Change is Scary

Resisting change is futile. Yet we do it all the time.

The good ol’ days, we say. Why can’t we go back? Well, ours is a changing universe filled with energy that only moves forward.

We can blame it on technology. It sure forces super-fast changes on us. But take a look around, social media alone has created a universe in which wild and scary of yesteryear is now exciting. The problem, then, is not the speed or complexity of change. 

Talk about change. Not long ago Apple Corp. asked: Could you love a robot?  Not a droid machine, but a humanoid robot like Sophia below who could mimic human expressions, emotions.  

  

We love and name our cars. They mean a lot to us, so we assign them human characteristics. We carry on conversations with inanimate objects, so … could we love a robot? Accept it as friend, or more. Maybe.

Change is scary. Our tendency is to resist change on many levels — technological, societal. Too stressful. Something new to learn, to accept as normal.

We can say refusal to change is a coping mechanism. Marching forward, although necessary, can be exhausting.

We can say it’s about money and power. Those who’ve been marginalized have always fought for change, for fairness, for tipping the balance of power, while the  influential pushed back. Regrettably so, since change happened anyway at a higher human cost.

Change always comes bearing gifts, as Price Pritchett said. Gifts we sometimes don’t like.

Good or bad change is inevitable. Demanded by an emerging, moving universe.

And, really, is there any other way forward? Without change — growth, movement, whatever the term — we’re bound to fall behind, be diminished. Disappear.

So, why continue to resist it?

—-

Images: pixabay, hurtingsoftly, damngeeky

15 responses to “Change is Scary

  1. It is interesting that you should mention the issue of “change” as this morning on my walk a group of us ‘old characters’ were talking about what we are seeing in the world, and none of us are happy. We feel things have changed for the worse and not the better.

    Practical thoughts have been disregarded as has the necessity of learning from ancient history. Cookie cutter thinking seems to have taken over. We need to have a balanced world with a variety of jobs and mindsets as well as people.

    I do worry for my grandchildren. We do need change, but not the way it is happening. I wish the world LUCK!!!!

    The synchronicity in the timing of your blog is really interesting. Great job!!!

    • We’re in sync. Love that. I think what we see in the news is fear of change, nostalgia for the olden days.While change is scary for most people, it is terrifying for those who fought against change for centuries. So, as someone was saying elsewhere, they sell plutocracy as populism.

  2. Are you feeling the winds of change? I suppose they’re always blowing. Life will change, in a big way, when my youngest boys graduate from high school next May. Whoosh! there goes time!

    • On a personal level, I do Mary. We’re going to high school next year. One chapter closes, a new one opens. I welcome all of it. You’re in for some big change, times four boys. How awesome, exciting.

  3. Hi Silvia – change is good … especially if it’s looked at positively and taken one step at a time … it’s better to embrace it – but it does go fast now-a-days … maybe the youngsters don’t feel it so much. Cheers Hilary

  4. This reminds me of a poem I wrote a long time ago, but it’s a bit long for this post. Here’s a shorter version of the same thing:

    Change

    When I was a child, the world was exceedingly large.
    But as I grew older, little by little, bit by bit, it seemed to diminish in size, until, finally, I felt constrained and no longer free.

    The world hadn’t changed. I had.

    I remember collecting stones, tiny beautiful gems that sparkled when held up to the light. They were treasures in the imagination of my mind. Then, without my realizing it, they became nothing more than a covering for the driveway. Something to be ground up, stepped on, and used rather than to be admired.

    The rocks hadn’t change. I had.

    Then, one day, in a world much too small and a mind long set in its ways…one day, a stone I hadn’t even noticed suddenly sparkled out at me, begging me to remember when it was special, when it was meant to be cherished, when its beauty had captured my heart and the imagination of my soul.

    The rock hadn’t changed. I had.

    And then, suddenly, in the twinkling of a moment, the world and I were young again, and everything in us had changed.

    • Ah, an illustration of the internal change in us. We find time and space too grand for our little self beings, then too small, and if lucky enough it’s grand again one day, even if only in our imagination. Thank you, Lyn, for sharing you beautiful poem.

  5. I find it ironic that I don’t like change, because that’s actually a big change from who I used to be. When I was younger, I welcomed it. Now, I take one step forward and look both ways twice. Age. It’s a funny thing.

  6. Ah, change… That’s a hard one. If one doesn’t change, one can’t grow. But it’s so nice to stay in one’s nice little coccoon.

  7. The only thing that is constant is change … someone said that but it is true I reckon. It’s inevitable so perhaps our attitude, if one of fear and trepidation, can change … I like what Lyn above (or below) said about inner change. Maybe it’s the best way to effect change in the outer? Thanks Silvia, great post!

  8. When I think about having to deal with change, I often wonder why I fight against it so much when change is the only way to grow… I think about all the changes that I have dealt with over time and how I was sure that I wouldn’t make it through… but i always do and each time I grow and become stronger. These are wonder thoughts, I enjoyed reading your words xox

    Thank you for dropping by my blog and leaving me such a nice comment xox

    • Than you. You’re absolutely right. It’s human nature, I suppose, for us all to fight the unknown. But we learn as we go, hopefully, and how wonderful is that. Lovely to see you visiting.

I welcome your thoughts.

