San Francisco

Hang on to all that is good in the world. To stories, and poetry, and music. To memories of a stroll in the park, a cable-car ride through the city.

The world is full of beautiful places and wonderful people. Something worth reiterating : the world in which we live is full of wonders and beauty. Of welcoming towns and bustling cities.

This past weekend, we visited one such city — San Francisco — for a quick getaway, and left re-energized, memories sure to light the corners of our minds for years to come. There’s  much I could say about the City by The Bay, but it’s all been said, sung, and written. Many times over. Best to let pictures tell the story — another perspective on the city of love and lights.  The city of everything.

From the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz

to the SF Giants Stadium and  Exploratorium (science museum)

to street performers and a cable-car ride

to Union Square (named after some of the largest and oldest pro-union rallies in the country) and more street performers

to China Town (expansive, thriving community) and remnants of the Beat generation

San Francisco, this forward-looking city with an array of diverse neighborhoods, rare and genuine culture that conjures up images of the ’60s hippies, and gorgeous bay views with imposing bridges on both sides, has one draw back:   It’s hard to leave.

17 responses to “San Francisco

  1. I love San Francisco. I hope to get up there before the end of the year. We often go in December (my birthday :-) ) and it’s very special with all the lights and decorations. I didn’t know how Union Square got its name–thanks for that, and for the tour!

  2. I haven’t been to San Francisco in MANY, many years, but it is a beautiful destination. My great grandfather helped develop San Francisco and was a Superior Court Judge for the State of California there… San Francisco holds MANY memories for me.

  3. Thdnks got the photos. I haven’t been in years, but you’re right, it’s hard to leave.

  4. San Francisco is so cool. Looks like you had a good time.

  5. Hi Silvia – I’ve never been to San Fran – one day … but leaving a place with so much going on is difficult – it looks like you had a lovely time … as you say revitalising – cheers Hilary

  6. I’ve never been there, but as seen in books and TV, I’ve always loved it. :-) Great pictures you have here.

  7. Loved the pics. Glad you got to get away for a bit! I hope to go to San Fran someday soon!

  8. Such a great city! I loved the times we’ve been there. Luckily my husband’s sister Jenny lives there so we’ve been there a few times! And travelled a bit from there … Tahoe etc …

  9. I love San Fransisco. Have been there 3 times at different periods of my life. I know what you mean about it energizing you. Your post, Sylvia, makes me want to go back there. <3

  10. Looks like a fun place to visit!

  11. I’d love to go someday!

I welcome your thoughts.

