Depression is a bitch

Depression.  It comes and grabs you no matter who you are. Young, old, rich, poor, fat, thin, beautiful, ugly, popular, nerd, loved, lonely … the list goes on.

Chester Bennington . The Linkin Park singer/songwriter fought through years of depression, until  just being human, just trying to stay on an even keel proved to be too much. Yesterday was the end of the road for him.

Listening to a radio tribute for the musician, I was struck by the host’s words:  1 in 4 women and 1 in 6 men suffer from major depression at some point in their life.

Those statistics mean we all know someone who has dealt or is dealing with depression. Who probably still quietly struggles with their demons.

The list of recommendations is long and easy to find. But I feel inclined to share the major points:

~ Remain nonjudgmental. Give the message that you care and are accessible.

~ Encourage them to seek professional help.

~ Help them get help.

~ And, the big one: Check in.

We all suffer periods of sadness in our lives, but clinical depression is an entirely different animal.

Just get over it, ‘ they say
I wish I could find a way
Living with it day by day
Memories won’t go away

_____

Image: bestclassicbands.com

18 responses to “Depression is a bitch

  1. Thank you for posting this.

  2. Thanks Silvia – reading this prompted me to reach out to a family member who suffers dreadfully from this crippling illness. It’s important to ‘show up’ even if it’s a short Sms. He lives a long-ish way away –

  3. I dealt with depression during my life and the advice you gave is wise. Now, I turn to Andy Grammer’s song, “Gotta Keep Your Head Up” to help me smile and remind me to keep MY head up! Oh yes, my walks around Poulsbo help enormously too. I hope lots of people listen to your fabulous words!

  4. Been there. It’s a hard road. Sending good thoughts to those still going through it. Perhaps this was the push someone else needs to get help.

  5. Hi Silvia – I have a great friend who is sufferering … I saw her daughter last weekend – it seems to be getting better … but sadly will return as it does. I’m far away and now her daughter is moving north .. I’ll check in as I’ve been doing, but do it more often. They are north of London, I am on the south coast.

    I wonder how many women suffer more after having a child when post-natal depression kicks in … this is what happened here. My glass is always half full – which is noted, as hers is half empty or worse sometimes. It’s so difficult to know what to do … except be there …

    Cheers Hilary

    • I think that’s how it starts for many women. I suffered temporary bouts of post-natal depression, but with proper nutrition, rest and support I’ve recovered. However when it’s not temporary, the road must be far more difficult. For many, it’s hereditary. And crippling.
      Thank you, Hilary, for reading and the comment.

  6. A simple check-in can be a lifesaver. Follow your intuition. If you have that feeling that you need to call someone, or take them out for coffee, do it.

  7. so sad – your title is powerful and painful wake up call!

  8. Your piece is timely, Silvia, since I know someone who just had a bout with depression. She came through, but you never know when that will occur again. Your advice is wise, and thank you for calling our attention to this condition and letting sufferers know they’re not alone.

  9. Having suffered through a mercifully brief bout of clinical depression, I can relate to this wonderful post, Sylvia – and thanks for talking about it. You’ve told everyone all the essential necessary information!

I welcome your thoughts.

