Reflections 2016 #atozchallenge

A-to-Z Reflection [2016]

So, the Blogging Challenge is over. Well, it’s been over for twelve days, but recovery takes time — nearly two weeks since I officially opened my blog. It’s been an extremely satisfying month, but also demanding.

After some rest and clarity, I look back at the comments, at the posts written, and I’m overwhelmed. Twenty-six posts, hundreds of comments, and thousands of visitors.

Thank you.

I liked too many blogs to compile a list of favorites — many amazing stories from many different corners of the world. And I’m fascinated by stories. By the blogging spirit out there. The drive to keep going. I admire it and feed off it, and that’s more than anyone can ask for.

My son caught a pretty nasty bug during the last week of the Challenge. All my time went to doctor visits, taking care of him, follow-ups with the doctor when the medicine didn’t work and he broke out in a rash all over his face and arms. Going back for another visit, another test, another set of medication.

Daily blogging takes energy, which was nonexistent at that point, but then I read my friend Gwynn’s posts, and came across a variety of other posts that moved me beyond words. So I kept going. And as the Challenge came to an end, my son got well.

Amazing how much people need one another, isn’t it?  Need might be a big word here, but you know what I mean. We thrive when we feel connected and supported by each other, and we suffer when connection and support are not available. We have these needs as babies and we never lose them.

Blogging, in that way, becomes a group activity. We need to connect, to read each other’s stories, learn from one another. We continue to move because we are a group. We’re in the same boat, on the same trail, so we push forward — for one another if not for ourselves. And you can’t quit or complain — well, you can, but stay with me for a moment — because it would be a disaster to the group.

So, I came away with the realization that continuing to move our feet is the only way to reach our destination. We keep going, for ourselves and for others, to prove that WE CAN DO IT.

22 responses to “Reflections 2016 #atozchallenge

  1. SIlvia,
    Have you tried olive leaf extract for your son’s bug?
    It is most likely that if you do, it ill cure him.
    I wish you and your family all the best.
    Peter

    • Hi Peter. Thank you for the suggestion. I actually read about olive leaf extract. Might have to try if this ever happens again. The rash went away pretty quickly with the help of Benadryl. He didn’t respond well to the first medicine, but once that got switched, he was better within 24 hours, and the bug pretty much out of his system. Thank you for reading and the comment.

  2. Yes, sometimes it’s difficult to keep moving, and we may have to force ourselves to take that next step. But it’s always worth it!

  3. Always forward! The alternative I find unattractive. :)

  4. Daily blogging is too hard to consider. I signed up but then backed away from the challenge. nicely done.

  5. So sorry your son got sick. Glad he’s better. That’s rough. I’m amazed you didn’t drop out of the Challenge at that point. There are some things that are more important.

    Congrats on making it through.

  6. How lovely, Silvia, that you seem habitually engaged by the Whole Picture, like the stars in the firmament on a dark and sparkly night!

    I also admire your detailed mindfulness to parts of this universe, the Galaxies each of these hermetically significant. All the people, so very special! I am much aware of Gwynne’s challenges , moving to a different location while at the same time caring for her sick husband. and I feel my heart and your heart going out for their well-being!

    I am close with you, in happiness, that your son got well!

    Joe
    Shalom

    • Thank you, Joseph, for reading and for the poetic comment. :) Everyone’s special, in their own way .. until they’re not … Ha! Kidding.
      “the Galaxies each of these hermetically significant,’ this is going to stay with me for a while. Lovely. Thank you.

  7. Definitely the challenge was a journey if all of us together. Hope your son is feeling better.

  8. Lovely Silvia thank you, I agree the A-Z is a wonderful way to connect with all that supportive energy of others – glad your son is over the worst of it and that YOU manage some rest and re-charge. Have a great weekend :)

  9. I’m glad you made it through, Silvia. It does seem that each of us traveling the A-Zs had some other pressing urgency claiming our time. And for that reason, if none other, it is good to be connected. We need the support. Studies have shown that humans need socializing with one another. I know I certainly thrive on that, and, like you, I love storytelling and hearing about others’ lives and their ideas. I very much enjoyed reading your posts.

  10. Yes, Silvia I TRULY understand the value of support… you, Susan, Carol, and so many others… your kind words helped to keep me going while dealing with my sick husband, his doctors, hospitalization, and finally our move. You too were overwhelmed with your son being so seriously ill. I’m so glad to hear he is better.

    Friends are our life’s blood… I value you enormously. I wouldn’t have survived the Challenge without my friends’ support. Now, today they shut down Comcast so I won’t be up on the computer until next week. My body will go into shock! Hugs!

  11. Congratulations for making it to the end, especially when you’re son was sick. And good for you for taking a break afterwards. :-)

  12. Love your perspective! Blogging is just one of the balls we keep in the air – sometimes it’s sitting there on the desk, like right now while I polish my book and write copy for the back cover, work on two new books..You know the routine. Plus you have children at home How do you do it? Your A-Z Challenge posts challenge and enrich every time.

  13. Hi Silvia – I’m glad your son is better. The A-Z is always exhausting, but exhilarating at the same time .. and blogging is connecting and making friends via that connection … we need the support and the encouragement … those who blog understand! Congratulations on finishing .. and see you around soon – cheers Hilary

  14. We do keep going! That’s a great way to put it. I think it can be tempting to give up… I always pre-wrote my A to Z posts in March…so there was no giving up. It was just about reading comments in April. I got to the point where I stopped responding to most of the comments on my blog so I could put that time into reading others, but I still never got around to all the blogs I wanted to visit.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

I welcome your thoughts.

