Zone #atozchallenge

head-196541_960_720

So, is the Writing Zone myth or reality?

Sure sounds like an enchanted land where our words flow from somewhere inside through our fingertips and onto our keyboards, every word a perfect concoction of powerful, vibrant prose.

A maniacally beautiful groove that goes on for hours. When we pull away from the keyboard, we’re so pumped with writerly adrenaline, ready for a run around the neighborhood before returning to our beautiful words to polish them off into envious finality.

I believe there is such a place. I spent some time there, but none of the above happened. This widely written-about Writing Zone is an accumulation of zones for this writer — ideas popping out of nowhere while driving, great dialog lines inspired by overheard snippets of conversation, the perfect setting prompted by a hike up Santa Suzanna Pass. 

acrylic-1323646_960_720

Somehow, the story emerges, and that overrides all angst, because in the end … there is The End.

Another end we’ve come to is that of the Blogging Challenge. 

I’ve enjoyed meeting you, dear blogging friend, although rushed by time constrains dictated by daily blogging. It’s been a joy reconnecting with old friends. I plan to go though the list and follow you back, if I haven’t already. Sure hope we’ll continue to read each other, and you will continue to teach me much, much more.

Until then … my very best,

Silvia.

Images: Amberzen & DasWortgewand/Pixabay

38 responses to “Zone #atozchallenge

  1. I DO enjoy your vibrant prose. I’m still looking for that vibrant zone for my prose to become colorful and exciting. However, at the moment my problem may be my dead brain!!

    However, when you read my post… you will realize how seriously dead my brain is as I SWEAR I saw a Zombie Changling driving in the car behind me!

    Thankfully, we survived the Challenge. I’m applauding you… great job!

  2. Yeah, I’ve been there. That marvelous place where you go always when you allow your characters to lead you. :) Yay! For completing the challenge! It’s been a lot of stress sometimes but I happy I did it exactly because of blogs such as yours. :) Good Luck with getting into the zone!

  3. (Psst! Lots of times I find it in the shower.)

  4. Vibrant is a wonderful word to describe your writing, Silvia! So enjoyed your posts, as always. Congratulations on the finish! ❤️❤️

  5. Hi Silvia – well done – and zones … sometimes I’m in a zone … Congratulations on doing the A-Z and getting to the end … it’s been good to see you on occasions, even though I’m not a participant this year.

    Take care and enjoy the bloggin break that is coming .. cheers Hilary

  6. The zone – elusive much of the time but it’s there! It’s been great reading your posts Silvia, well done for completion! Hope your son is tons better and that all is well …

  7. Congrats on completing the challenge. You did great! Excellent posts. I also plan to go back and read entries from blogs I liked. Enjoy the rest.
    Mary at Play off the Page

  8. I think it definitely exists. I find a big difference between writing something I love–fiction or an essay for an online publication I love–as opposed to writing about moving computers or garage doors. I also find when I’m stuck (like working on a synopsis and having no idea where to go next), I’m in the opposite of the zone, whatever that’s called!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  9. Thank you, Silvia. It has been a pleasure to reconnect with you again this year. Congratulations on making it through the A-Zs one more time. I have never heard of the Writing Zone, but I do go into one. What I’m going to write is all that’s on my mind until I get it out onto paper. I need to get into the habit of the early afternoon walk, though. A lot of sitting this month. I’ve enjoyed sharing California stories with you. Maybe one day I’ll get back out there and we can visit. Meanwhile, hike the Santa Susana Pass for me. :-)

  10. It’s a wrap!
    Congrats on reaching the finishing line, Silvia.
    Your posts were wonderful (the ones I managed to read).
    Have a good rest.
    Writer In Transit

  11. I think my writing zone is somewhere int he early hours of the morning. The challenge is to get to the computer before it all disappears…

    And another AtoZ bites the dust. I really must visit in between Aprils – I really like your posts :)

  12. Congratulations on finishing the challenge!

  13. Silvia, let’s toast to the end of another A to Z! I thoroughly enjoyed your posts once again that provide me with needed inspiration. Denise

  14. A wonderful completion to the series, Silvia, the zone is definitely there and as you say we tune in and out of it as life unfolds around us. It’s been a real joy reading your posts. I look forward to reading more.

  15. Loved this post! <3
    Best way to end a challenge I suppose … :D
    Congrats for completing this challenge :)

  16. I have hit the “zone” several times when writing my last book, it is a great place, that’s for sure. One day while in the “zone” I must have pounded about 5,000 words, while sitting on the patio, in 90 degree weather, and never realized how hot the day had become.
    I hope to someday be there again.

  17. Congratulations Silvia on successful completion of the A to Z Challenge :)
    What a thought-provoking post to bid adieu to a challenge that helped us all up our writing skills in one way or the other.
    Looking forward to reading more from you.
    Happy Writing!

  18. Polish them off with envious finality…I like that. Finality always seems to elude me in my fiction writing.
    Congratulations on completing the challenge!

  19. Joseph Rubin

    I enjoyed today’s post a zillion ways, the pictures, your thoughts, my education reading about “the” zones and, also, your prose! This is the first chance I have had to comment on the A to Z challenge, though yesterday I began reading your posts starting from A, but far from finished. Congratulations for your exceptional writing and completion of this A to Z ! I wish you and your family the very best !

I welcome your thoughts.

