Willow #atozchallenge

2015-06-27-20.06.40-300x209

The willow, with its ability to not only survive but thrive, is an inspiration to move with life rather than resist our feelings.

Its branches extending canopies, bending outrageously without snapping, the tree is a metaphorical reminder to keep going and reach higher no matter the conditions. 

There is something majestic about the willow’s presence, isn’t there?  Its character and gesture, its silhouettes of shapes where the light cuts through, where the breeze caresses just so.

I am a willow of the wilderness/ Loving the wind that bent me. ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Perhaps for this reason the willow plays an important role in folklore, as in Julianna Horatia Ewing’s The Willow Man.

There once was a Willow, and he was very old; And all his leaves fell off from him, and left him in the cold; But ere the rude winter could buffet him with snow; There grew upon his hoary head a crop of mistletoe. All wrinkled and furrowed was this old Willow’s skin, His taper finger trembled, and his arms were very thin; Two round eyes and hollow, that stared but did not see; And sprawling feet that never walked, had this most ancient tree. ~ Julianna Horatia Ewing

willowman

Willow Man

The stiffest tree is most easily cracked, while the willow survives bending with the wind. ~ Bruce Lee

Image: the goddesstree slperrin.com

25 responses to “Willow #atozchallenge

  1. I love willows. There’s something dreamy and melancholic about them. Beautiful post.

  2. Willows have been my favourite trees since I was a child.

  3. The flexibility of the willows, able to withstand whatever comes her way. Thank you Silvia …

  4. I love the Willow man. I also love the Willow tree. Standing under it feels like you’re in a tent. Although, it is a messy tree, too.

  5. I miss willow trees! There are not as many around it seems as when I was growing up, but I like some I see at a nearby park. They’re just beautiful as they sway in the wind.

  6. Willows are quite inspiring and I just love the quote from Bruce Lee… !
    Awesome post :)

  7. I grew up with a huge weeping willow in my yard. My brother and I would play Tarzan and swing on the branches across a little stream. I LOVED that tree!! They are fun for encouraging one’s imagination to come out to play!

  8. Willow trees are full of character and inspire in more ways than are evident in one glance.
    Loved the post :)

  9. They are wonderful trees. Just wish my **** neighbours wouldn’t keep ‘improving’ them.
    Jemima Pett

  10. Lovely, lovely, lovely, Silvia. I think it was John Muir who wondered, and I paraphrase, “When a leaf falls from a tree, do the other leaves miss it?”

    Thank you for this poignant post.

  11. We called them weeping willows when we were growing up. I used to sit at the foot of one we had in our backyard and read. I felt like I was in my own little world. Loved that tree. Thank you for sparking that memory–I had almost forgotten. Dawn

  12. Until I moved where I am now, I thought trees like that weren’t around here…but they’re everywhere here. We’re on a peninsula, so maybe that’s why.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  13. I have always loved willows.

I welcome your thoughts.

