Songs #atozchallenge

DSC_1196crop[1]

Hubby playing at Whiskey a Go Go in Hollywood, 2012

Ever find that a story evolves in your head while listening to a song?

My husband plays guitar; he’s been part of several bands — nothing big, just fun. So, listening to him play can create quite the stories, add nuance to scenes. Listening to him talk about music can give characters interesting backgrounds.

I find music has a way of cancelling out the white noise of wasteful thoughts that linger. Helps make room for ideas hidden in dark corners.

Listening to Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day sing about his lethargic state — the various reasons for it — did wonders for one of my fictional characters’ internal monologue. I knew how the character should feel, but had some trouble expressing it, or showing it, until Armstrong’s emotional output came through.  

Sure, it’s possible the emotion would’ve come through anyway, but it’s also possible I would have not liked it as much. And to convince readers, a writer must first convince herself.

~~ What type of music inspires you? Specific song(s)?

NOTE: I found a nice surprise in my inbox yesterday: Samantha Geary Jones, blogger extraordinaire, featured me, among other bloggers, on her WriterlySam blog in a very cool feature called Behind the Scenes.  If you have a moment to check out the post CLICK HERE.

27 responses to “Songs #atozchallenge

  1. Lisa Gerrard! Unparalleled (IMHO).

  2. I don’t listen to music as I write, but it’s been a part of my books so far. Characters sing and/or write songs. Okay, this is weird, but I wake up with a song in my head almost every morning! Sometimes it’s one I like, others times not. LOL

    • Oh, I like that, Linda. Waking up with a song in your head. Not weird at all, particularly if you can take it into your writing. I don’t listen to music while writing, either. When I do listen, I find bits and pieces that click … sometimes. Been listening to Prince today. ): Thank you.

  3. I find music has a way of cancelling out the white noise of wasteful thoughts that linger. – loved that line!!

  4. I don’t listen to music when I write currently but maybe I should. I had a period in my life when I always listened to Norah Jones while working. She soothed and relaxed me.

  5. I LOVE music, but I’m more interested in the rhythm than the words. I laugh… the words never make sense to me! ;-)

  6. Sylvia, you are a surprise! Married to a rocker!
    Music is a big part of my life – I’ve marked so many events by the music at that time. I can;t actually write to music but need to feature it more in my books. It resonates (pardon the pun) with readers.

  7. Totally agree with you about music. If I am feeling down, music can help me work through the emotions and come out in a better place. Nice photo of your husband. Your post is so timely, as well, as we mourn the loss of a brilliant singer, songwriter, performer and guitarist, Prince.

  8. Clash man myself, love guitars n drums….visiting from the A2Z

  9. I tend to need a soundtrack to write, and have come to associate certain bands and songs with either writing in general, or certain characters in particular. I like to credit my soundtracks in my dedications pages.

  10. Artists, both of you–very cool. Nice shout out, too.

  11. blkbtslonglegs

    Congrats on being featured, that is great!

    I remember listening to Iggy Pop’s Lust for Life and also Bohemian Like you by the Dandy Warhols at one point when I was writing stories. I know that I also had more melancholic songs. I guess it depends on the mood of the story :)

    Tracy (Black Boots, Long Legs)

  12. My story revolves around two sisters who remind me of the sisters of the rock group Heart. Listening to their music inspires me. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting!

  13. Pingback: Companions | Eric Tonningsen's Awakening to Awareness

  14. I listen to music nearly all the time, Silvia. As you say, it vanquishes the white noise and clears the mind. I write to music most of the time, too. It sets the mood, provides storyline and dialog and just makes a nice soundtrack. Some of my posts have soundtracks.

    I worked with a group of musicians in L.A. — Gardena — at a food distribution and catering business. We had so much fun. We always had the radio on and everybody would sing. So cool.

    From there I know a member of the MO50 cover band; they play mostly in Long Beach, and he’s also in Tracy G, that band. A band that he was in many years ago had a top 40 hit, and he’s well connected in the rock world otherwise.

    So, I especially like this post. Music is my first love.

I welcome your thoughts.

