Mountain #atozchallenge


From my office window, I can see the San Gabriel Mountains in the distance on clear days.

Now and again I sit at my computer and type whatever thoughts the view conjures up, stopping to look at their peaks. From far away, their tops give the allure of adventure to be lived, yet  harbor mysteries that can frighten one to the very core. 

On some days, the mountains stir my imagination beyond reason. I imagine some alternate universe up there, since they’re so far away. Other days, they’re simply my mountains of imagination stirring up dreams. 

We humans have proven over and over that we need something more, something big, like the mountaintops.  Something awe inspiring.

Mountains have forever shaped human lives in ways profound.  They’ve changed the weather — from green to frigid. They have forced us to travel around them – fear them. And we continue to be inspired by them. Mountains have driven us to conquer them, to test our determination; and yet, they keep calling.

“Thousands of tired, nerve-shaken, over-civilized people are beginning to find out that going to the mountains is going home; that wildness is a necessity”
― John Muir

34 responses to “Mountain #atozchallenge

  1. I was blessed to grow up in a mountain valley, and still call that valley home. I love being surrounded by the mountains. We lived away from the mountains for many years, but now have returned. It is just right.

  2. Mountains are majestic – I always am in awe. In real life, when we think we’ve climbed metaphorical mountains and gotten down or over to the other side, we find yet more mountains to climb! Thanks Silvia! How lovely to have that view …

  3. I keep going from made phases of loving mountains to those loving the ocean.. but there is nothing like a day admiring their majestic beauty :)

  4. Though I am more of a water baby and love the beaches, but your thoughts are really inspiring me to switch over my sides…Loved the quote <3
    What lovely view you have from your office window!
    M for Mind

  5. I have always felt a connect with the mountains, they inspire me to look up at life and hear the wind sing a song of motivation to rise above the ordinary, the mundane.
    Love the view from your office window and loved the thought of returning to wildness in the quote you shared :)

  6. Thank you for your ode to the mountains, Silvia. I believe John Muir says it all. He will have his say again soon, on my blog. Here in Delaware where the highest point is only 447.85 feet elevation, you must imagine that I miss the mountains.

  7. I love mountains! Not only are they beautiful and awe-inspiring, but they also represent safety. There are so many stories about people hiding in the mountains when their lives were in danger, or crossing over a border to safety by going through the mountains.

  8. When you live on a prairie, seeing mountains is always spectacular. I could stare at them all day. You’ve got a great view there . . . :-)

  9. Mountains always seem remote and exotic, rugged and wild. Such a contrast to life in the suburbs.

  10. I have family that lives in a hollow (they pronounce it holler), and I was really amazed that when I visited and look

  11. (Oops pressed send too soon) when I looked out the back window, all I could see was a mountain. Look out the front and there was a road and a mountain. I was amazed. I am sure it inspires greatness.

  12. Remember that Sasquatch could be hiding out in your mountain range too! I am surrounded by a forest… WHAT is hiding in there?? Bhwaaaaa!!!!!!! ;-) Imagination is fun!

  13. Just got back from Germany,where I got to it and admire the Alps for a long while. There IS something about mountains!

  14. I do enjoy the view of the mountains. Especially when they have snow on them.

  15. ‘… the allure of adventure to be lived, yet harbor mysteries that can frighten one to the very core’ –I’ve often felt that way looking at the waves of the sea, especially at night. How beautifully you’ve expressed it!

  16. I love the mountains and you’re so lucky to have such a lovely view from your office!

  17. That wilderness is necessary, indeed. Nice office view!

  18. It’s amazing that things like mountains can inspire so much. I often find inspiration by the sea.

    Cheryl
    Plucking of My Heartstrings

I welcome your thoughts.

