Life is a story #atozchallenge

beaten-black-and-blue-barbara-drake

Life, I’m sure you noticed, is a story.

It comes to us like a story does — scene by scene. We wake up. The sun is shining, but later it might rain. A friend might call and share good or bad news. We might get a promotion. Lose a job. Order and plans are shaken by scene-altering events.

Life unfolds like drama, doesn’t it?  There are characters, settings. Some scenes are comedies, others tragedies, soap operas. Whatever happens, it’s all part of the big story. Life.

The culmination may not be the originally intended destination, but the story will mirror a life of effort and inspiration. It will be your story and my story. They will be exclusive to us.

11051210_10202535160538747_2782084996235255006_n

yours truly at story reading

Perhaps, for this reason, story narrative is suited for the exceptional. We have control over the written story, yet must remain hidden to retain credibility.

In Stranger or Friend, the most important element, for me, was that existing order falls to events that change everything without making it seem I had anything to do with the creation of chaos. At least that was the intent.  

Anyone who watched a good movie, enjoyed a book, knows that stories are filled with conflict, clashes of wills, the fault lines of society. Sound like life?

As this blog’s tagline reads: Life is a story; might as well write it. In that spirit, I’ll be making my way to your wonderful post soon.  

25 responses to “Life is a story #atozchallenge

  1. Love that tag line, ‘life is a story, may as well write it’! Life, loud, brash, soft, sweet and about a zillion other things in between .. Thanks Silvia!

  2. I do like the notion that life is a story that we are writing. It helps put things in perspective.

  3. What a wonderful analogy Silvia :)
    Loved the way you related “stories are filled with conflict, clashes of wills, the fault lines of society. Just like life”
    It sure feels so :D

  4. Yes, life is a story. And we sometimes forget that everyone has their own unique story and get caught up only in our story. I love hearing everyone’s story and that is why I love the A to Z.

  5. Unfortunately, in real life, we can’t rewind. We can’t go back and relive great moments, nor can we make that one change that would make a difference in the outcome.
    Mary at Play off the Page

  6. Yes, life is a story, and sometimes truth is stranger than fiction. ;) By the way no one asks for credibility in life so maybe we shouldn’t be constrained too much by the credibility requirement in writing. ;)

    All the world’s a stage …

    Rian from https://riandurants.wordpress.com

  7. What a lovely post and so aptly put …Loved the way you related Life and a Story .. :)

    Cheers,
    Srivi – AtoZChallenge
    L for Lipstick | Twitter

  8. Loved this post, and completely agree with it. Each story is uniquely creative. Each story is our very own! Thanks for writing this in such a creative, fun way!

  9. I like the picture of you at story reading. Does the guitar music set the tone for the story? I can’t imagine reading some stories to guitar, but I suppose, if the musician knows the story, or is at least listening, he could alter the song to suit the action. :-)

  10. It is interesting that so many of us wrote about “life,” but life definitely provides unique and different stories. I like your take on “life!” Thanks!

  11. When I was 7 years old, my parents told me I needed to go to the hospital and to surgically remove my tonsils. I was petrified as hard as solid stone. I had imagined knives and blood, and guts. My father provided assurance, conviction, and fascination by what I assumed was the story of his life.

    He hung a magnet on a string, and lowered the magnet over some tiny nails. Presto! The tiny nails jumped up and clung to the magnet.
    That, folks, is how you do surgery!

  12. Does art imitate life or does life imitate art…?

    Thanks, Silvia

I welcome your thoughts.

