Jive #atozchallenge

davis%20swing%20landscape%201938

There are over one million words in the English language, by some estimates, many downright quirky. Take jive for example, a noun, verb, and/or adjective. It could describe swing music, early jazz. As a verb it could be used to describe dancing, teasing, or exaggerated, meaningless talk — Don’t give me that jive 

And it sure sound cool. No wonder Brian Setzer took Louie Prima’s song Jump Jive An’ Wail to another jazzy level.

images

I love words. I love finding authors who aren’t afraid  to experiment with language, use rare words in their writing — Ted Bell, for one, not to mention the writers of the Beat Generation, way back.  

When writing, when immersed in everyday moments, thinking of interesting words and terms is positively groovy. Decorating the mind with attractive, note-worthy terms fires up the neurons in a hurry.

If language is uniquely human, painting with words is art. It’s part of why we blog, isn’t it? Aside from sharing stories, sure. We share through a multitude of words, strung together ever so beautifully, in hopes of evoking a feeling, sharing knowledge, taking the reader to a jiving place.

Any words you find groovy, please feel free to share.

—-

Image: thesoftmaniacblogspot.com, dicogs.com

33 responses to “Jive #atozchallenge

  1. I think “savvy” has a groove to it.

  2. the beat: a patrolman who strived to make his beat a safe one
    beat: strike violently so as to hurt or injure
    beat: succeed in getting somewhere ahead of some where ( like cops & robbers?)
    beat the bushes: search thoroughly (looking for the bad guy?)

  3. word correction..getting somewhere ahead of someone (like cops & robbers?)

  4. I love words also. It is refreshing to meet someone who steps out of their cubbyhole and began to explore just how rich language is when expressed through words that paint meaning.

    Great post.

    Shalom,
    Patricia @ EverythingMustChange

  5. I always like “neat” but it not only fell out of favor, it got to a point that you got weird looks if you used it. It seems to be making a comeback.

    • I like neat for what it describes, but also for the exclamation phrase, That is so neat, which may or may not have anything to do with the definition of the word, but there that certain excitement to it.

  6. Words, love ’em! We have one here that I say all the time ‘Eish!’ Basically means Ish or yikes or golly – amazement at something … used in all sorts of situations, watching our pres on TV (lots of ish there), a speeding car, the cold, the heat etc – For me it is very expressive :) The younger generation: sick means great .. go figure ..

    • Ish, that’s a good one, Susan. And I hear you about ‘sick.’ Same here, means something akin to great in young people’s minds. The one that gets me is ‘criminal,’ that’s supposed to mean something great, too, or awesome, rad, I don’t really know. Young people, eh?

  7. I love your post and how you wrote it. “Decorating the mind,” wonderful phrase. A friend once said, “Paul Harvey paints pictures with his words.” He was a master at it.
    Mary at Play off the Page

  8. I do love telling stories, as you know, Silvia. And I think of my writing as painting with words. The English language lends itself especially well to juxtaposing or transposing its words and phrases and coming up with a different melody, rhythm, even meaning. I enjoy most the Irish poets, English humourists, the Russians, 19th century and early 20th century writers of the classics, and especially those Scribners authors whose editor was Maxwell Perkins.

  9. Loved this post!
    I often end up using awesome and neat, so I guess those are the groovy words for me :)

    Cheers,
    Srivi – AtoZChallenge
    J for Joy | Twitter

  10. I had to come back and say this, how appropriate that Bono’s essays should be printed today on the front page of the online New York Times, because Bono says, “Words … I love words and phrases, maybe because I’m a songwriter. Absurdities are a personal favorite. Today I will always remember as the day of “permanent temporary solutions.”

    The Dadaab refugee complex near the border of Somalia is the largest in the world. It is home to 345,000 people, nearly a third born in the camp, which has now been going almost a quarter of a century. Yet they still call it temporary.”

    So, Silvia, speaking of words and cultures and ideologies …

    • Wow, Samantha. Thank you for coming back to share this. Am going to go look for Bono’s essay. Absurdities, yes. And talk about absurdities, what a heart-wrenching example he gives. Moved by it. Thanks again.

  11. Another great post. I might have to use that top pic as wallpaper or something. It is cool.

    • Thank you, Denise. There is something about abstract art that grabs me — open to interpretation, distorted shapes and sizes, color. Seems there is a convergence of beauty, chaos, and maybe even sarcasm. I like that poster, too.

  12. This post brought JOY to my life. I LOVE it!! Sadly, I only can think of “Cool” at the moment. However, I think your JIVE will keep me motivated all day! Thanks!

  13. After reading 16 responses, here, I thank everyone that great meanings arrived to me on the backs of words. Lots of fun & new wonders about the diversity provided by the messengers, the words.

  14. I’m rather fond of catawampus.

  15. I love words too! I read once that the English language has shrunk since Shakespeare’s time by more than half. In honor of J, I say we bring back words like jocund. I also like to ponder the implications of a Jabberwocky. Great post.

  16. I dream of the wild west before bedtime and “The message mounted his word and speedily arrived at Fort Apache”.

  17. correction of phrase, should be: “—the creativity of the messages, and the words that compliantly act as the messengers.”

  18. FOR CLARITY, I HAVE RE-WRITTEN: I dream of the Wild West at bedtime, and “The creativity and meaningfulness of the messages mounted the WORD and speedily arrived at fort Apache.”

    • That’s quite the vision … words acting as messengers, which they sure are. And the idea of creativity and meaningfulness mounting the word and moving through the lands (the lands acting as our valleys and peaks of our understanding) in such a hurry. Thank you, Joseph.

I welcome your thoughts.

