Early #atozchallenge

abstract-571660_960_720

I’ve accepted long ago that my best everyday moments aren’t meant to happen before eight a.m. In fact, the later the better.

While life continues to force morning routines upon my late-morning brain, I view the world more favorably if not faced with it before eight. Any earlier, I try to get my bearings in a world that is ten shades too bright and won’t stop making terrible, loud noises. 

Being alert at six feels like punishment even if wired on coffee.

not-an-early-riser

I love  sleep, and prefer to let the world wake up in peace. Maybe the world needs its everyday moments as well. The way I see it, the early bird does not get the worm. No. Moreover, and tragically, the early bird does not get to lay out in bed, wake up gently, enjoy her morning coffee. It’s possible the early bird is bushed before dinner.

Oh, but I did try those get up at the crack of dawn routines. How did that go? I fell flat on my face and spent the afternoon thinking about my comfortable bed and soft pillows.

I hold early risers in high esteem. My husband is one. With a jam-packed schedule, I could use the extra hours, but after many failings, I understand such cyclical schedule has been set by wiring beyond my control.

Yes, I’ve accepted society’s demands of relatively early starts. I only ask for patience. And coffee strong enough to wake up the neighbors.

How is your morning/daily routine? If an early riser, do you find quality in the late hours of the day?

Image:amitvele.com

45 responses to “Early #atozchallenge

  1. I remember my days of falling out of bed at 5 A.M. to start my day. Now, I’m lucky to climb out by 7:30, I’m so tired. I have to drink green tea instead of coffee… RATS!!

  2. Before writing happened to me,i was an early bird and things worked out well but now i need to try hard :)

  3. Your mornings sound like my evenings.. I can’t do them.. If, by some feat of miracle you keep me awake between 9&10pm then I’ll stay awake till the lark gets up but that’s a very occasional happening these days

  4. I’m neither an owl or a lark. I like my sleep. I’m usually most productive in the mornings and evenings, Afternoons I’m useless. I envy those who take siesta naps.

  5. I can get a lot done in the morning early, but I would probably rather sleep until at least 7 am. No chance when work begins at 8 am. I like to be left alone at work for at least 30 minutes so I can drink some coffee and chill before being barraged.

  6. I’m the opposite. I’m up at 4:30 every day and that is my most productive time. About 7:00 p.m., I’m winding down.

  7. You have to go with what works for you. I have been a morning person since I was in my teens. My father saw to that. He would wake me up with “Day’s a wastin’ ” along with the overhead light. I’ve gotten up early ever since.

  8. When I worked full-time, I rose at 5:00 (and didn’t get enough sleep!). Now, I find myself waking more with the sun – earlier in the summer, by 7:00 in the winter. Coffee? Yes, please! And bed by 11:00. Usually.

  9. I have failed miserably trying to be an early riser! So I prefer to get up late and surely need my cup of coffee or tea when I get up :)

    Great post :)

    Cheers,
    Srivi
    The Piscean Me | Twitter

  10. I have started being an early riser after moving further away from work place. But weekends are mine :D Sometimes I wake up before the sun, sometimes sleep late till afternoon.

    Visiting from A to Z Challenge
    Co-host Pam’s Unconventional Alliance Team
    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

  11. I’m with you totally on this one, Silvia; in fact, here in Delaware I’m still on California time. As I write this, it’s nearly 8 a.m. your time, and I’m just having my morning coffee. Once up, though, I do have a productive few hours in the morning, and then late afternoon before dinner. I have read where I think I’d do well on a Parisian schedule. :-)

  12. I am more of a morning person, but like to ease into the day. The boys are up very early for school. Even when they’re not here, and we don’t have school, I get up early because of the cat. He has a routine and we all must stick to it! When the boys leave for school, I turn off the lights and snuggle under a blanket with my coffee, computer, and blogs.

  13. My mornings are varied because of my lousy sleep problems. Sometimes early can be a productive time for me, sometimes early is just too darned early!
    Rosa
    @RosaT_Author
    Rosa Temple writes…

  14. Well, as a fellow night owl, just remember how nice and peaceful everything is late at night. When those early risers have given up and gone to bed. That’s our time. We just have to make use of it.

  15. Sleep…I think writers do need more than most people. Or maybe it’s women writers. I’ve heard studies say women do need more sleep than men, and from what I’ve seen in my own family, it certainly seems to be true. (Me, I like to get about ten hours of sleep, when I can. Eight is not enough.) :-)

  16. Mornings are my zone. I get up and work for at least an hour almost every day. I love how quiet the world is at 5:30 am. But I do need my coffee. I couldn’t function without it.
    Robin @ Write On Sisters

  17. The older I get the more I wake up to an aching back. That tends to put me in the category of an early riser. ;)

  18. When my kids were still at home and I was working at the university, I was up at 5:45, then 6:30 when they had moved out. Classes started at 8!
    Now that I’m retired, I wake up naturally between 7 and 7:30 and woe unto him that runs into me on those days when I have to use an alarm clock to get up earlier! Mornings are my creative time!

  19. I’ve tried to become a morning person, but haven’t been successful.

    Yvonne V

  20. I could have written every word of this post. Seriously, I have tried to be a morning person. I sometimes enjoy it when I have naturally (albeit rarely) awakened fresh and early to a quiet house. I’m forced up to get my young teenager to school. I can wake up thinking of the next nap:)

  21. As far as I’m concerned, any time before about 9:30 at the earliest should be illegal! It’s hard enough when I have to get up earlier than usual to be ready for holiday services. Years ago, I naturally awoke at early hours, but now I never naturally awake so early, unless I know I have to be up super-early for something like a plane trip.

  22. Well, I’m an early riser (although I do totally and utterly devour the odd weekend lie-in. Generally though, I get up before 6, do some yoga or at least gentle stretches and feel much better for it. I’ll leave you with this thought Silvia – I do it all without an ounce of caffeine and have done for the past 6 years *ducks and runs for cover* :)

  23. I’m an early riser but I do so with the aid of strong coffee and manage by going to bed early. I need a good eight hours of sleep so I find myself going to bed before my teenagers do most nights! Early mornings are peaceful, fresh and my favourite time to exercise.

  24. Coffee gives me lil tiny comfort in my belly. I m an engineering student so few days i ll be up early at 4 to study or work. And few nights are spent sleepless to read a novel i want or to meet a deadline.

I welcome your thoughts.

