To Walk Less Briskly

FOG

I can remember it vividly. The moment I got off the freeway this morning, and from this high point called Santa Suzanna Pass, I could see a blanket of fog covering the valley below. That natural tableau yanked my mind off its spinning wheel.

Rushing down the freeway to another appointment, another chore, another must-do thing either work or home related, I had closed off my mind to everything else.

I had forgotten not to force life on my way through it.

To let it unfold. Let it flow.

Make sure I enjoy the little moments. The scenery outside my window and feelings it creates.

Always in such a hurry to achieve the next goal. Tackle the next adventure. Sacrificing the now.

The future is unknown and largely out of our control.

Sure, it’s great to have direction and purpose. But investing oneself completely in the future and what it holds, we’re left with little for the present.

So, I slowed down and took a picture. Thought about sharing it here together with the story behind it. The picture doesn’t do the natural beauty justice, but that’s the thing with phone cameras.

Soon after, I made a few mental notes resolving to sip my coffee slower each morning. Walk less briskly. Let the environment soak me in sights, sounds, and smells. Blog more, share more stories (while blogging reentered the picture I signed up for the Blogging from A through Z Challenge)

Make the most out of life. Embrace and share those experiences. As our life-loving French friends say: Vivre la vie.

17 responses to “To Walk Less Briskly

  1. A great observation, Sylvia. Life is a journey to be enjoyed. I just signed up for the A-Z Challenge – what will you do this year?

    • Happy to hear you signed up, Noelle. Same here, but I haven’t decided on a theme yet. Fun, fun, fun. Look forward to it.

      • I am so pressed for time this spring (visiting my son in Germany, helping my daughter move back East, getting my third book out) that I am taking the easy way out – will do A -Z on people and places from my two books.

      • Love that idea. Knowing how good a storyteller you are, I can’t wait to read the posts. Best of luck with the move, and enjoy Germany. (I’m still undecided on my theme. :))

  2. Aloha Silvia,

    You are on target with this. I preach having fun and enjoying the round in the grumpy golfing community. It is not a popular stance, but is gradually being accepted (or at least I don’t get as many scathing comments anymore). People don;t have to live all day in the present, but some would do them good.

    I am looking into the A-Z Challenge, thanks.

    A Hui Hou (until next time),
    Wayne

    • Wayne, thank you for stopping by and the comment. Sounds like the golfing community can benefit from your advice — living all day in the present can be exhausting. Glad you’re checking out the A to Z Challenge. I’m on the list. Hope to see you there.

  3. I agree with you in that it IS wonderful to enjoy NOW, and to sit back and smell the flowers. Sometimes life doesn’t cooperate, as for me, I’m playing Nurse Wratchett. Enjoying now is a tad bit more difficult, but I work at it. Thanks for your wonderful reminder that I don’t have to rush through life! Smile! Enjoy the fresh air and sunshine! ;-)

  4. The fog can be beautiful from the right vantage point.

  5. Hi Silvia – yes we do need to step off the bandwagon and listen to the world around us … seeing, as well as listening … the bird song is wonderful … and the rustle of the leaves, and rushes of grass … fresh air too .. cheers Hilary

  6. It’s hard to be in the “slow lane” when everyone is zooming by, but it is important to do so, at least once in a while. Peace be with you.

    • Yeah, the slow lane can be too slow. Here in So Cal everyone zooms by most of the time. But as you say, Mary, it’s good to try once in a while. Thank you for visiting and the comment.

  7. I’m giving the A to Z a miss this year, my theme idea didn’t quite work out, but I do feel a tiny bit jealous when I read about others signing up!

  8. Very late to your post Silvia but, better late than never. Far too often I’m in rush mode – and it’s not easy to get off the treadmill. Your post is reminding me to put on my walking shoes (now it’s 5.00 p.m. here in SA) and even though it will be busy when back from my walk (supper to prepare, a meeting at 8.00 p.m. elsewhere) at least I will find the time for myself to admire the clouds, look at the summer green, get my muscles moving etc … The fog is beautiful!

  9. Thank you, thank you, Silvia, what a great reminder, and beautifully written too. Your message comes across, clearly! It sounds fun to do the A to Z again, I passed last year, and am not sure about this year either… Am trying to find more studio time, it’s hard to have two different things pulling your attention (but in the end also a blessing to have that kind of choice).

I welcome your thoughts.

