Comfort Zone

 TM

Between a sinus infection and a life that keeps on keeping on, I’ve missed coming in here and chatting with you, dear blogging friend.

I don’t remember when I last had a sinus infection, but this one wiped me out. Will power meant nothing. I simply had to stop, too tired to focus.

My Toastmasters group also needed attention, as I sort of abandoned my duties there for the past month. So, it was nice to return and evaluate a speech.

Moreover, I am working on a speech, which I will deliver October 14th. Amazing how I actually enjoy speaking in public now, something that couldn’t have been further from the truth two years ago. The nerves are still kicking my gut, but they seem to settle down after the first few words are spoken. 

I try to envision the speech as a storytelling event, and storytelling, writing, is what I love.

I’m always interested in similar experiences, or ways to conquer such fears. Public speaking, or any sort of public interaction that requires we step outside our comfort zone, how do you handle it?

21 responses to “Comfort Zone

  1. I need to conquer this same fear. I am not very good at public speaking. I may consider a free online course through Coursera when time permits. Good luck with your speech! 😄

  2. I had very good experience with Toastmasters and I think it actually helped me develop better writing skills. I did the advanced manual in Storytelling and it was super fun. Good luck on the speech.

  3. I am TERRIFIED of public speaking. When I was PTSA President I had a terrible time in front of everyone. If you asked me to speak in front of a group I would just as soon run screaming from the room! ;-) I congratulate you for conquering your fear! Also, I’m glad you are well!

  4. Sorry about the sinus infection. Hope you’re on the mend.

    The first time I stood up in front of a classroom, I lost my fear of speaking in front of people. It’s bizarre. I’m not great at finding things to say, but getting up there, not such a big deal anymore.

  5. Hi Silvia – I hope you start to feel completely better soon .. sinus infections are unpleasant and debilitating. I tried toastmasters and hated it – just the public speaking element of it … Like you I now speak in public at small groups … and use my talk, similarly to a blog post … it is easier.

    Cheers Hilary

    • Thank you, Hilary. Better now. Sorry about your bad experience with Toastmasters. But glad you could still get up there and speak and enjoy it in the process. I find I enjoy public speaking now, although our club is not that big, so not that many people (some 15 to 20). The interesting part is when I speak on the district level, and there we’re talking 50-100 people. Now, that’s tense, and for that reason I’ve only done it twice. :)

  6. hey ,i understand how difficult it is to deal with lot of things at a time,health definitely takes a toll….wish you all good health and at the sametime heres my feeling on fear in one of my blogpost…
    https://uniqusatya.wordpress.com/2014/12/16/rise-above-fear/

  7. I hope you feel better soon, and that your speech goes well. Good for you to tackle a fear and continue to face it.

    Fondly,
    Elizabeth

  8. Hope you are feeling better now. I think I have done more public speaking since I retired 3 year ago than I did in the 30 years before that! I am more passionate about what I speak about – makes a big difference.

  9. Forty years of giving lectures to often disinterested students was the teacher for me. I like to approach any speaking gig as a way to teach my audience. Begin by drawing them in, tell them what you’re going to say, say it, and then tell them what you said. Leaves them with a lasting impression of content.

  10. PS Glad you’re better and back amongst we bloggers!

  11. Also glad you’re better Silvia! I gather it’s lousy… i.e. sinus infection. I reckon we’re required to step out of our comfort zones much of the time if we are ‘in life’ – and the times when we are at ease are joyous moments! Writing takes me straight out of my comfort zone …Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  12. Joerubin27425@gmail.com

    More than 40 yrs., academic teaching, still initially apprehensive with a new audience. I fortify myself by coming in knowing clearly what I will teach.
    I find that telling a joke helps me perceive the audience loosening up, and signs of pleasure transmitted to me builds me up. Jokes are usually in context of content in the moment, for example: A young teenager seeks support from a mother about a nasty illness. Mother’s standard reply is, “This will heal before your wedding, my child.”

  13. My son wants to speak to groups but gets nervous. I’ve recommended toastmasters. Sounds like it has helped you.

I welcome your thoughts.

