Imagination ~ Day 3 of 3-Day Quote Challenge

mystery

Music is story and story is music. Moreover, music is lyrical poetry.  

I often hear that readers imagine certain soundtracks to stories as they read, and use them as an anchor, a mental scaffold to connect.

Imagination is the golden-eyed monster that never sleeps. It must be fed; it cannot be ignored ~ Patricia A. McKillip

It’s easy to do this with movies, as the music is unmistakably there, but I think it could be just as easy with novels if the visual produced is so spectacular. So much so, we can almost hear the music.

Music is a world within itself. It is a language we all understand ~ Stevie Wonder

When I had the opportunity to do a reading for my book back in April — see above picture — I wanted to add music for my first time with an audience. Sure, it was for all the reasons listed, but also a way to deal with nerves.

So, I dragged my husband, his guitar and sound system to the bookstore.

When I hear music, I am invulnerable. I am related to the earliest times, and to the latest ~ David Thoreau

Music — background guitar strumming — helped settle the rhythm of my thoughts. It helped modulate my voice to certain tones, helped sense the emotion in ways that, hopefully, brought the story out in a more … musical way.

Music is timeless, it will never fade ~ Unknown

In the same way a story can be timeless and never fade.

After our performance at the bookstore, we received a request for an encore but … haven’t done it yet. Maybe soon.

Indifferent of the affairs of men, time runs out ~Erwin Silvanus

I want to thank my friend Gwynn for giving me reason for introspection — a most-valued exercise — and so much fun.

24 responses to “Imagination ~ Day 3 of 3-Day Quote Challenge

  1. I love the idea of adding music to your book appearances, and you’re so lucky you have a musical husband. Mine plays the harmonica, so I don’t know if that would work too well. :-)

    • Ah, Linda, thank you. I think your harmonica performance would probably work. Why not? Maybe we can get the two husbands together, have them accompany us as we read. :)

      • That would be fun. Actually, I was thinking the harmonica might work after all. In one of my books, the MC plays the harmonica. What was I thinking. LOL Thanks for your fun and inspiring posts on imagination!

  2. Oh Silvia, I LOVED your quotes and your post. But, I’m laughing. When I hear music I want to dance… not speak! Put me in front of an audience and I want to hide under the rug! ;-) You did an amazing job with the Three Day Quote Challenge. You are a talented writer!

  3. Well Silvia, I’ll tell you what… I’ll dance with you… let YOU sing, as I don’t want to scare anyone, and I would LOVE to chat with you! You probably could teach me a thing or two… or three! ;-) Hugs! Gwynn

  4. That’s a great idea. I’ll have to steal that if I ever get the chance.

  5. Did anyone video this for you? I woukd live to see/hear it. What passages -early in book or when she knew she was in danger – from your book did you read? What a lovely thing that your husband could accompany you (even if dragging or bribing was involved).

    • No, Sammy, there was no video made, only the photos. It would have involved plugging the sound system in different ways so as for the sound itself to come out well, as per my husband. Maybe next time. My Toastmasters club wants us to do it there, so I hope we could better organize it. It’s always the issue of time, getting so many moving parts to work in unison. Thank you so much. We had fun, and by the looks on people’s faces, so did everyone else. (There was some insisting on my part, but eventually my husband succumbed to my nagging, as he put it. :)).

      • Yes it’s a lot if added anxiety to get sound working when you are already anxious about reading.

        I am envious that he plays guitar; wish my own ‘love’ could serenade me 😊 although he did originally woo me with lovesongs sung by others💖

      • Well, your love got the romantic part right with the serenading. My husband played in a band for years, just for fun, though they did make some pocket money here and there.

    • Sammy, sorry, you asked from which part of the book I read. It was bits from the first few chapters (about 25 minutes all together), as I didn’t want to give too much of the plot away. I read mostly descriptions and fragments having to do with the inner struggle of the main character. Also, a bit on the danger parts in the beginning, when she hears the noise in the woods. It was well received.

  6. Lovely post, quotes and photo Silvia! What a great idea to have your husband accompany you on guitar while you were reading. I’m also wondering from which part you read? I’m casting my mind back –

    I loved your book which had me gripped from the beginning. I put up a review the other day!

    • Thank you so much, Susan. I read the review and it warmed my heart. It was a fun little event, our reading. The music changed the otherwise quiet atmosphere. I love acoustic guitar for its emotional aspect, and since it’s not so loud it works beautifully.

  7. Music most certainly helps us in so many ways creatively… and what a great idea to have an acoustic soundtrack to your book event!

  8. Music is the great connecter. It also calms me, and excites me. It would be fun to hear your guitar and reading duet.

  9. such wonderful blog and presentation – I finally have my Radio Internet Live – Please visit the link below:

    http://www.theradioelement.com/

    If you are interested to participate or share anything please let me know…

    Thanks;

    Mino

    • Great to hear, Mino. I will definitely visit your internet radio program. And yes, I would love to participate if you showcase novels or do author interviews, or any such events. Sounds awesome. Many thanks.

  10. Hello, Silvia! I am behind in my blog reading, but I want to say I sure did enjoy your posts in your quote challenge!

I welcome your thoughts.

