Yearning ~ A to Z Blogging Challenge

ArtofaGoodApology

Why do we tell stories? Why do we pound away at the keyboard, trying to express ideas, finesse them, present them to the world?  

It’s a heck of an undertaking — turning one idea into a story with the interest it must present to engage readers until The EndIf writing brings financial success, writers do it for many reasons, but why does it start, this storytelling obsession?

Going back, we know storytelling has always been a way of entertainment, passing on history, teaching. An all-inclusive art.

I would venture to say that it’s also a Yearning. The writer aches to shed thoughts. The reader yearns to be taken to different places.

Harry Potter, for example, is a story about loyalty, friendship, courage. In J.K. Rowling’s words: “I had never been so excited about an idea before. I sat and thought for hours, and this scrawny, black-haired, bespectacled boy who didn’t know he was a wizard became more and more real.”

One can almost hear the urgency, the yearning to tell the story of this seemingly unloved boy with no identity.

In Stranger or Friend, I had to tell the story of a woman returning home to an ailing mother. A familiar feeling to many. 

Moreover, observations from years past have stayed with me, leading to questions of trust among people from different cultures, of what happens when trust is broken. It always starts with a question, doesn’t it? 

The puzzle is what keeps the feeling alive. 

Yearning is vital.  It’s what makes us do the stuff we might not like (month-long blogging). It challenges us. Yearning keeps us going even when others think we’re nuts. Yearning asks WHY, even if the question goes nowhere or the answers are uncomfortable.

~~ I can’t thank you enough for staying with me this month. Some days, when unsure I could continue, it was our amazing camaraderie that kept me going. The last post is reserved for Zoe Sinclair of Stranger or Friend. Almost there!

—-

Image: artofgoodappology.com

14 responses to “Yearning ~ A to Z Blogging Challenge

  1. Congratulations, Silvia – we’re almost there!

  2. People love stories! Everybody can tell stories, but some do it better than others. You have done quite a good job this month. One more letter :)

  3. Yearning is the motivator. We yearn to tell tales, to share them, to hear them, to connect through them, and understand ourselves better. Thanks for all the sharing you did this month. Well done!

  4. I’m yearning for the end of the Challenge! Whew – we’re almost there. Great job this month, Sylvia,

  5. Powerful post Silvia thank you … yes the yearning is expressed in so many ways as a way of sharing stories .. old ones, new ones –
    NEARLY there … well done for the finish line being in sight! It’s been so great!

  6. Yes, Silvia, to echo many of your friends… GREAT JOB. I’m torn. I yearn for the Challenge to end… but THEN what do I do?? ;-) I have enjoyed your posts and learning more about Zoe. Great idea for featuring your book! Congratulations on accomplishing SO MUCH!!

  7. Yearning for something, wanting so badly to reach some goal, keeps us going. As an author, that feeling does push me to write my stories. Thanks for the post, Silvia!

  8. I’m yearning for the month to be over…

  9. Story telling as an “all-inclusive art” – I like that description! Again, congrats for a fantastic A to Z, you can be proud of what you’ve achieved, and now take some well deserved rest!

  10. Hi Silvia – Yearning is the motivation too .. even though I only blog – I can feel what you’re saying here … and I’m just about to read about Zoe .. cheers Hilary

  11. I love the idea of the desire to write being a feeling of yearning. :-)

I welcome your thoughts.

