Los Angeles ~ A to Z Blogging Challenge

Los-Angeles-City-Night-Lights-Skyline[1]

Los Angeles is a great collection of neighborhoods, not really a city even if classified as one, at least not in the same sense New York is. We have a downtown area but the strength of the place lies in its suburbia — a great many communities.

This is the place I’ve called home for the past twenty-three years — the city of open ideas, some crazy ideas, LOTS of opinions, different cultures and languages, beaches and mountains and valleys, colorful flora and interesting views. 

If I lived anywhere else, I’d find it easy to hate Los Angeles given its portrayal of Holywwod-ness and laid-back-ness, which, of course, is not what Los Angeles is about.

Beach-Awesome-Wallpapers-HD[1]

How This Pertains to the Story

As we were finishing the edits for Stranger or Friend, my copy editor asked if I’m working on the next Zoe Sinclair book? An interesting question because I was working on something else.

However, I had cut a couple of chapters from Stranger or Friend, which the editor’s question brought back to mind. Sure they didn’t fit the current novel, but maybe there was more to Zoe Sinclair’s story in them. What if Zoe wants to talk to me a little more?

Lately, she has been talking — not much, but talking — and we’ve made a pact: whatever she gives me, if anything, she must give on her own terms. So, we’ll wait and see. One aspect of the new novel, should there be one, is certain: the setting for the next Zoe Sinclair novel will most definitely be Los Angeles.

__

Images: globaltraveltorusim.blogspot.com; wallpicshd.com

22 responses to “Los Angeles ~ A to Z Blogging Challenge

  1. I love Los Angeles for its vitality and diverse neighborhoods. It will be a great setting for your next novel. – Fawn

  2. Beautiful view! (smile) Blessings

  3. I can hardly wait for you to become a famous novelist so you can do a book reading in the NW. Then we can visit with our wine, cheese, and crackers! You are doing great!!!

    One side comment… L.A. can be VERY Holywwoody as you put it… part of it depends on the company you keep. I much prefer the NW. 17 years there was too long for me.

    • I don’t known about the first part, Gwynn, but you’re right about the company one keeps. I suppose that’s true no matter where one lives. Thank you for reading and the comment.

  4. LA is so close yet so far from me. 30 miles.

  5. I think it’s interesting putting characters into different scenarios to see how they act and how things affect them. It’ll be good fun for you to explore Zoe’s character in L.A. :-)

  6. Hi Silvia .. that makes sense for you and for Zoe – she knows where she will be and where her stories are .. I love how you intertwine both .. and I’ve never been to LA .. one day perhaps .. cheers Hilary

  7. Aha! That’s where I thought you would go next! Sometimes you just have to let your characters tell you where they want to go and what they want to do. Rhe has been whispering to me all through the A-Z blogs. Looking forward to your next book!

  8. I have never been to Los Angeles or the US. I guess it is one of those places to put on a bucket list.

    • Charlotte, I hope you’ll visit one day. Los Angeles is more international than anything else, with languages and cultures and culinary treats from every single corner of the globe. Thank you.

  9. Ah! So Zoe won’t be staying in the small town for long, huh? :)

    It’s interesting to hear your description of LA. My only experience has been flying in and driving to nearby areas such as Anaheim. Driving through LA didn’t charm me in any way, and I’m not a big Hollywood kind of person. It sounds like maybe I just haven’t seen the best parts yet.

    • Chuck, considering she is originally from Wyoming, she might return at some point, and under different circumstances. But she also needs to explore. Anaheim, eh? Sounds like you went to Disneyland. I could see how you wouldn’t be charmed by traveling from the airport to Anaheim on the freeway, unable to see much of anything, really, and Anaheim is a tourist-crazy place. You’d have to get off the freeway and go far from it, to the beaches, and trails, and mountains. There is a lot to see outside the usual routes. And definitely far from Hollywood, which is just a bunch of studios with little to see outside the walk-of-fame route.

      • Well, I haven’t been to Disneyland, although I would like to at some point. I was there for work, so that probably also played into why I didn’t have time to enjoy anything. :)

  10. Glad to hear there might be a sequel. I am about 80 percent done–I’m on edge trying to figure it out . . .

  11. I have always wanted to visit Los Angeles. Maybe one day I will.

I welcome your thoughts.

