Feelings ~ A to Z Blogging Challenge

Life

“We are masters of our thoughts and slaves of our emotions.” Unknown

Early Views

Controlling emotion comes with maturity. No, not childhood emotion but the uncharted waters of grown-up feelings. There was a time in my twenties when joy, sadness, love jumped out of me, unfettered. 

Maybe starting a new life far from home and entering a new society opens up emotional pathways. Maybe it’s the Latin part of Romanian people, the part where every feeling is expressed to the fullest.  Maybe it’s a mixture of the two.

How This Pertains to the Story

To care we must be attached, and it’s no different with a book. We have to feel, be emotionally involved. We need a character whose happiness or anguish means something.

With Stranger or Friend, it was important the reader had access to Zoe’s feelings. Best way to do this, in my view, is via internal monologue. At times this crossed into my own feelings, a time to step back, decide whether to reevaluate or let it be.

Too much emotion can be overwhelming, yet not enough is … well, bland, a textbook manual of cause and effect. Open to the question: why should I care? It sure is tough striking a balance between too much and not enough, yet strike it we must.

Here is one example of Zoe’s internalization:

So much lost. Lives, human decency, trust in people, all gone. Her world, broken now, shifted into a dangerous position, one she might never see snap back in place again. The old life she’d found so demanding, gone. How she’d miss life before the crimes, the killing, this walk in the woods.

What keeps you involved when reading a story?

23 responses to “Feelings ~ A to Z Blogging Challenge

  1. I do like to be taken o a journey and get inside with the characters.

  2. Lovely excerpt thank you Silvia. I can usually tell from the beginning whether the book will keep me involved. When a chord is struck by the writing, words, setting, context then I am ‘struck’ ..

  3. Hi Silvia. I’m talking about my novel during the challenge and finding that in itself a great journey as I discover my own novel in this way. For me, I’m kept interested in a book if the writer makes me care enough about the characters. If they are not believable or I can’t connect I lose interest. So they have to be engaging character; different, refreshing – something.

  4. The saying you referred is 100%reflected in all of our lives ;)

  5. Hi Silvia – I like to feel I know the setting and understand what’s going on … and someone’s writing can’t be wooden .. it must flow, and flow on .. we can always stop off and savour .. and then cast off again … cheers Hilary

  6. I need to connect either emotionally, depending on what is going on in my life, or intellectually with a book. I jump around as to what connects with me and what I need in my life at that moment. Plus, sometimes I read too much of one genre and then I will go without reading that genre for ages, until I need it again. Thanks for the interesting post.

  7. Absolutely. If I don’t feel an emotional attachment to at least one of the characters (usually main character), I’m not engaged in the story, and might even put it down, and not return.
    Play off the Page

  8. I agree, Silvia. Internal dialogue can enhance a reader’s relationship with a character. Well done!

  9. Are you originally from Romania? I’m going there for the first time next summer and am SO excited.

    What keeps me involved in a story is the characters. I have to like them, or at least find them interesting.

    • Yes, I am from Romania. Oh, that is so great to hear you’re going there this summer. Would love to reconnect after and talk about it. If you have any questions in advance, fire away. Have a great trip!

  10. I’m not sure. There’s got to be some hook that catches me, but I can’t tell you for sure what it is. I guess it’s different for each story.

  11. An ongoing dilemma, Silvia. Have you read or seen the movie “The Razor’s Edge”? A little book, I highly recommend it, if you haven’t read it. Enlightening. By Somerset Maugham, 1944.

  12. Emotional appeal is a big part of what keeps me involved. I like to feel things when I am reading. Also: Action and dialogue.

    Can’t say I care much for long, static descriptive passages. Stuff has to be moving. (None of this fits the long, static descriptive category. I like this writing).

    Happy A to Z!

  13. I agree that it is a tough balance to strike to create a character with enough detail for the reader to root for (or maybe against) them but not bore the reader with tedious details. I think you’ve done a great job with Zoe. (And I am also real curious about this Marshall guy.)

  14. Like you say Silvia, attachment to a character – good or bad- always helps. #AtoZChallenge

I welcome your thoughts.

