What in the World?

61fYLFYuXPL._AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-32,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

What does sending a new book out into the world entail? A lot of hits and misses.  Comedy of errors. Insert favorite cliché.

It also involves marketing, which I am learning about at headache-inducing speed. But that’s apparently what we’re supposed to do while having a book on pre-order, and ahead of release date. Luckily, I find this new, enthralling dance fun. So far, anyway.

While going through the ‘to-do’ list ahead of release, I started with goodreads and updated my profile, as instructed.

Voila. So easy, I thought, let’s explore the site.

As I clicked away, there was a part about inviting folks to my page/book, so I clicked and it opened my gmail contacts. I clicked okay, and before I knew it an email was sent to everyone on my gmail contact list, with this message: “check out my book.”

Spam.

I hate spam.  So, if any of you were affected by this oversight, ignore and forgive me. I’m still learning the ropes.

Next on the ‘to-do’ list was a twitter chat.  If someone had articulated this term to me last year, I would’ve shaken my head at the weird word combinations.

Luckily, I have heard of twitter chats when we chatted our hearts away ahead of the blogging challenge. Thank God for blogging.

Fine, I replied. I will chat on twitter, if you want me to.

An hour later, another message:  Okay, you’re on for our twitter chat, Friday March 13th (why Fri. the 13th, of all days?) at 8:30 Central, 9:30 Eastern. Meaning 6:30 AM my time in CA.

Is there no end in sight to this strangeness, you ask?

No idea.  What I do know is that I have a hashtag for tomorrow’s twitter chat, which is #StrangerorFriend. If you happen to be at your computer, and feel like stopping by, come chat with me and my publisher on twitter. It’s something like a short, informal Q&A.

I’m afraid to look at the next item on my ‘to-do’ list.

16 responses to “What in the World?

  1. I am so happy for you. I know there is a lot to do, but you are my hero. I am also glad for your post as I forgot to order your book which I will rectify right now. I don’t have a twitter account. I don’t understand it at all so I won’t be joining the conversation but I will be thinking of you. 6:30…now that’s dedication.

    Love,
    E

  2. Is it only available on Kindle? I don’t have Kindle. I’ll ask my techie husband tomorrow.

  3. Yes, where can I buy your book.. Amazon??? Hopefully, it is in book form as I don’t have a Nook or Kindle either.
    CONGRATULATIONS!! I’m having fun listening to all your antics! You are doing great!

  4. 6:30. Yikes. It’s no longer even daylight then (stupid time change). (How do I know? I have to be up…)

  5. If it’s any consolation for authors like you, Silvia, no matter where one works or what your job description, everyone is now expected to be a skilled ‘marketer’. It’s a convoluted world for sure – all contacts all the time and buzzwords like upsell and platforms and branding yourself. Strangeness indeed. I don’t know if I’ll ever cross the divide to Twitterland. I’ll just enjoy your recaps of madcap marketing!

  6. Silvia..you are an amazing writer..please! let me know..where I can buy your book, I want to read it, I want to have it..in Amazon? God bless your week end

  7. oh! yeah! in Amazon..I saw that

  8. Nice to know we’re going through the same thing, Sylvia. Best of luck to you and keep marketing!

  9. It all sounds very exciting.

I welcome your thoughts.

