If You Can, Fall In Love All Over Again

heart shaped music note tattoo (20)

My mother-in-law, once divorced and once widowed, was talking about dating again. I only write this here because I know she’s an open, awesome woman.

Let me be clear: she’s not in any hurry, but the conversation did come up when someone wanted to introduce her to a man. She is in great shape (late sixties), has the sunniest smile, and I’m sure she’d make a great companion.  She’s also picky — as she should be — wants to know the family is comfortable with whomever waltzes into her life.  And in case you wonder, we weren’t comfortable with this particular suitor, and neither was she after some thought.

This brought to mind two quotes; one from Richard Dawkins: “I don’t want to be only a survival machine, programmed solely to preserve the selfish molecules known as genes.” This assumes the conclusion: what’s life without love … of something or someone? Gosh, it sure makes the daily grind of life easier to endure, doesn’t it?

As well as this quote, one of my favorites:  “If you can, fall in love. With family, friends. Your dreams and their dreams. Sometimes it’s as simple as that: we need to remind ourselves to fall in love all over again.”

~~~ Can I get an Amen? Or virtual cold water in the face, followed by: Stop Dreaming, Get a Grip?

 

_________

Photo courtesy: music-tattoo-designs.com

16 responses to “If You Can, Fall In Love All Over Again

  1. Since I’m in my mid-60s and once divorced, I definitely CAN relate to what your family and mother-in-law is going through. Being loved is critical… but maybe being loved by her children, grandchildren, and friends will have to be sufficient. Twenty years ago I dated for six years before I met my husband. There are a LOT of weird people out there. Also, for me, having a family that could get along with one another is important. I lucked out… my kids and my husband’s kids are now all friends and enjoy one another. Not all of my friends had the same luck with their families that I had.

    I CHEER your MIL along, and I wish her the best of luck and love. She deserves it. Whether she remarries or not… finding affection is critical!… whether friends, family, or a new loved-one!!!! Happy hunting!

  2. never too late – I love her thoughts!

  3. AMEN, Sister! Fall in love over and over … with people, places, things, yourself :-)

  4. You get an amen from me. Love is what makes life worth living, and your , mother-in-law, from everything you said, sounds like she deserves some in her life. From Maya Angelou:
    And suddenly we see
    that love costs all we are
    and will ever be.
    Yet it is only love
    which sets us free.

  5. That’s great. I hope she finds someone worthy of her.

  6. Aw. I like that message. I’m feelin’ it.

  7. I wish for her that she finds joy and happiness in all relationships and her world. She will bring joy and enrichment to whomever she meets …

I welcome your thoughts.

