How Has Your Summer Been Thus Far?

summer_love_05

Oh, summer. It tempts us with a myriad of delights, each more irresistible than the next. Fresh fruit, plenty of sunshine, the beach, the pool, you name it. 

Of course, here in Southern California, our summer is more or less eternal, but there’s something extra special about the summer months when kids are out of school, the days are longer and everyone is out enjoying life.

As a kid, I adored summer.

Having grown up in a country with harsh winters, summer was the absolute best for more reasons than one. I still love it, although I’d say spring and fall are slowly taking over a larger piece of  my heart. Spring for its renewed energy and change and beauty. Fall for its gorgeous colors and cool breeze and peace.

Our summer is still going strong here even if my son is back in school (5th grade). I know, there is something wrong about school starting so early, but we make amends to our lives, our summers, accordingly.

So, how has your summer been so far, dear blogging friend? Are you looking forward to fall? Enjoying the season to the very last minute?

Since I have no extra wisdom to impart today, blame it on the hot sun, I will leave you with this beautiful summer poem.

Be well. Stay safe. And enjoy what’s left of summer, for it shall soon fade into a season of colors and leave us.

The summer sun shone round me,
The folded valley lay
In a stream of sun and odour,
That sultry summer day.

The tall trees stood in the sunlight
As still as still could be,
But the deep grass sighed and rustled
And bowed and beckoned me.

The deep grass moved and whispered
And bowed and brushed my face.
It whispered in the sunshine:
“The winter comes apace.”

~~ by Robert Louis Stevenson

 

—-

Image courtesy: www.nakedfeetyoga.com

26 responses to “How Has Your Summer Been Thus Far?

  1. I love summer tho I miss the beaches of California.
    Thanks for your visit happy weekend :)

  2. Summer here in Montreal is much too short, but I know what you mean about liking spring and fall. That’s a very nice poem you posted by Stevenson.

  3. We have had a very mild summer (less than 10 days of 100+ heat) here in north Texas. Yay. That is a cute pic of a heart you found. Yes, your choice of poems is nice, indeed.

  4. Nice summer post, Silvia! My grandson is in 5th grade this year, and that is also the grade my daughter-in-law teaches. Those boys are changing so rapidly, aren’t they?!? One minute still a boy and the next, I see shades of an adult man – it’s like larva becoming a butterfly.

    I do love our Colorado autumn, but it’s very hard for me to let go of summer because I thrive in the heat and the longer days of sunlight. The darkening, shorter daylight affects my energy significantly.

    This is a sweet poem by RLS. I recently finished a historical novel titled “under the Wide and Starry Sky” by Nancy Horan that is about Stevenson, a Scotsman and his American-born wife. He suffered chronic illnesses and they were constantly on the move seeking locales where he could live.

    Horan is an exceptional writer – I copy many phrases from her works into my study journals. I would recommend the book as a very interesting read, although it does bog down in parts, and get a bit tedious. I flipped through those parts. The first half and the ending are well worth the read.

    • Another sweet 5th grader, how awesome, Sammy. It’s such a great age. Enjoy the long summer days, I’m betting you are. Thanks for sharing the name of that historical novel. How very interesting .. and sad, but that’s what makes a good book, the author’s ability to handle the drama well. I’d sit through a good book even if parts are slow. Thank you.

  5. Sadly, this summer has not been fun for me as I don’t do well in the heat … at least not without a lake or the ocean to jump into. However, I’m now at an age where I don’t want to scare anyone if I put on a bathing suit. Plus, I’m the only one in my family fond of swimming. Additionally, because I wear hearing aids when I become hot and sweaty I drown my hearing aids to the tune of $800.00. All of this hot sun is costly for me.

    How about if we compromise…lovely sun with a cool breeze and no extreme temperatures? Otherwise, the summer brings out lots of people to walk the Poulsbo waterfront across the Puget Sound from Seattle. I love talking with the people and petting their dogs. When the sun goes away many of the people disappear too and I do miss visiting with the sunshine walkers.

    Fall and Spring bring out the vast colors here in the NW. The sun sparkles, the foliage is dramatic, and a long-sleeved blouse or sweater makes life perfect at that time of year. I am so excited for fall!

    Your Robert Lewis Stevenson quote is perfect. ;-)

    • Sorry to hear summer is not the greatest time for you, Gwynn. My mother-in-law has a hard time with it as well, needs to stay inside with the air conditioning blasting. Okay, we’ll compromise for you — I do love a cool breeze, I must say. I can only imagine how beautiful fall must be where you are. Divine. Thank you for commenting.

  6. The summer (like all time recently it seems) is flying by! Love the poem! Makes me want to take a deep breath and slow down for a few minutes. :-)

  7. Lovely poem, thank you.

    I also enjoyed hearing about your summer. It’s always interesting to know when each state begins school. Here it is September so we are still enjoying the last precious days with our kids. They had their required physicals yesterday complete with a meningitis inoculation. I debated about this one since it is recommended for kids living in close quarters (college), but since they play soccer, I figured it was better to be safe than sorry.

    Other than that, my summer has been busy, although I couldn’t pinpoint exactly with what other than I have had very little down time. This next week will be equally demanding with the twins’ 12thb-day party (where does the time go) and a trip to a local resort to see some plays with my husband in celebration of our 15th wedding anniversary (again, where does the time go.)

    Wishing you much peace and happiness as we transition to fall.

    Fondly,
    Elizabeth

    • Happy anniversary, Elizabeth. Congrats on making it thus far, and many, many more happy years ahead. The trip sounds awesome. And your summer as well– great and busy, but that’s life. We’ll take it, right?

  8. Hi Sylvia, enjoy it! I agree autumn (fall) and spring are so special. Spring is approaching this side of the woods, though it is still pretty nippy at night. I am quite sure we will have a really really cold front before too long, just as we think spring and summer is upon us! Just to give us a bit of a shake …
    I enjoyed your post thank you :)

  9. ps sorry for spelling yr name with a ‘y’ …..

    • Ah, not summer there, yet, Susan, but you’re looking forward to spring. I wish you a wonderful season with many relaxing and fun days.
      No worries about the “y”. Most of the world spells my name with a y, but in Romania the letter is way, way underrated and underutilized. Thank you.

  10. We’ve had a strangely cool summer here in the East, and after such a brutal winter I doubted summer would come at all. But the peaches are magnificent and the slower pace has been nice. For the first time in 8 years we are not moving a child back to a college residence, though, and that makes me feel a tad old. Ah yes — the only constant in life is change.

    • That’s what I heard, Rosie, not much of a summer in the East. Boy, and you guys sure needed it, after that brutal winter. Maybe you’ll have a grandiose fall. Thanks for commenting.

  11. Sounds like you are having a grand summer, Sylvia. Ours has been busy with no vacations – I was running a meeting in Orlando in July and my husband had a knee joint replaced after that, so I’ve been caring for him. My daughter came home to help out for this month, and our house has been turned into wedding central in preparation for the big day in October. She goes back to LA at the end of the month but will be back briefly in September and again the first of October. We’re going to take a long weekend after the wedding. Where has the summer gone?
    PS The peaches here are grand, too.

  12. Starting school already? My district doesn’t start up until after Labor Day.

  13. Summer can be such a lovely time, and such an amazing season for making memories :D

  14. I didn’t read your post until today. Our summer in San Diego is on high fry, three digits. Sigh.

I welcome your thoughts.

