Video

Book Trailer — Yakimali’s Gift by Linda Covella

A good movie trailer makes us want to see the movie. The same is true for a good book trailer — somewhat of a new medium for me, but certainly not a new publishing tool.

For that reason, I was excited to see the trailer for Yakimali’s Gift, a YA novel written by my friend Linda Covella.  (In 1775 Mexico, New Spain, Fernanda can’t seem to live up to her mother’s expectations. Half Spanish and half Pima Indian, she feels confined by the limited female roles of her culture…)

I came to know how talented a writer Linda is years ago, when we took a writing workshop together. Here is a quick look at her book through the trailer created by Tanya Watt.

For more, visit lindacovella.com

13 responses to “Book Trailer — Yakimali’s Gift by Linda Covella

  1. How much does it cost to do a book trailer? I was aware of them but figured only rich authors with big publishing contracts could afford to have one.

  2. Silvia, thank you so much for sharing my trailer! I’m so happy with it; Tanya did a fantastic job. Noelle: I asked fellow writers and searched the web for trailer producers. The range was typically $200 to $2000! Luckily, someone recommended Tanya. She’s very easy to work with and allows as many edits as necessary at no extra charge. Check out her website http://authortanyawatt.wordpress.com/lets-create-a-book-trailer/services/ I chose Package 3 for $55, which included the trailer and a banner ad.

  3. Oh neat. Thanks for this. It really helps those of us self-publishing and doing all our own marketing and at a great cost.

  4. Do book trailers really work? I’ve heard of several authors that do them, but I haven’t heard how useful they really are.

  5. Thanks to Linda for scoping out the financial end of things. So now the remaining question is: do they boost book sales?

  6. Well, you had me at the Native American flute music!! I play that all the time because it’s hauntingly soothing and mystical. I also just ordered a YA book to study with my grandson about North American tribal history. Yakimali’s Gift, and the timing of your post are “a sign” I need to read this book. I am adding it on my Amazon list for my next order.

    The trailer is beautifully developed. Kudos to you for spreading the word about Linda’s book and to the videographer who put the trailer together.

    I will let you know when I’ve read it (did you SEE my summer reading list ?!?)

  7. Silvia, the trailer is really interesting and intriguing. I have a friend, Dianne Lynne Gardner, who is making her own trailers. It is quite an art. Linda’s is well done. Thanks!

  8. O this is lovely – and comments are so interesting. Good to get an idea of cost.
    Thank you and good luck to Linda! Her book sounds intriguing.

  9. Reblogged this on The Confidant and commented:
    A great resource, especially for those self-publishing.

  10. I love book trailers!! This looks fantastic and will be put on my TBR list! Beautifully produced and the music adds much.

I welcome your thoughts.

