A Celebration

gatlinburg

Like Champagne on New Year’s Eve, watching fireworks on the Fourth of July is a tradition that never gets old.

I still remember my very first Fourth of July as an immigrant — the fireworks, the music, the hotdogs, the celebration of all that is American. Twenty years later, with a son born and growing up in this country, a husband who’s never been out of the U.S. until I dragged him, a job and many friends, I feel very much American. Sure, Romanian-American, but very much part of the community and the celebration.

And being part of the community makes a day at the beach even more fun. For the past five years or so, the beach has been our go-to place. We set up our umbrellas, even a little tent, bring our cooler with drinks, beach toys, plenty of sunscreen, even a book for me — oh, how wonderful it would be to find some reading time — and let the fun begin.

479932_2902293334910_1564927288_n

What it looks like on the beach (Redondo Beach) as everyone sets up.

The plan is to spend the day on the sand, take time to stand at the water’s edge, look out into the Pacific Ocean, celebrate the Fourth of July and the dream it commemorates, and get excited in anticipation of the big fireworks show.

What about you?

Have a wonderful Fourth, dear blogging friends, (if you you’re not in the U.S. have a superb weekend, and enjoy the World Cup games — yeah, it’s still on, even if the U.S. team is out :)).

Until next time.                                                                                     Cheers, Silvia. 

 

—-

Photo courtesy: gatlinburg

 

26 responses to “A Celebration

  1. Happy 4th of July to you too! I used to live on Camino de las Colinas there in Redondo, my first house. It is across from where the Plush Horse used to be.

    When I lived with mom and dad, they lived on 19th and Bayview Drive in Hermosa. We could watch the fireworks from the house or walk to the beach. Have fun.

    Poulsbo is expecting a mass of people to celebrate tonight with music, dancing, events, and fireworks. It will be a crazy time! Here on Miller Bay, my neighbor has a cannon he sets off and it already looks like a war-zone out on the street. People are definitely celebrating our Independence. Have fun this weekend and Happy 4th of July to you and your family.

    • Ah, we were neighbors, from another decade, and not at the same time :). I lived in Redondo for five years. Loved the beach community. Thank you, Gwynn. Hermosa is great, too, although it is now primarily a college party town. Have a great Fourth, war zone and all. :)

  2. Redondo Beach? I lived in Redondo Beach (for 6 months back in 1996). Sounds like a fun day!

  3. Happy celebrations Silvia! The beach looks great! We’ll be watching Wimbledon mens finals from comfort of living room tea cake strawberries and cream with fire to keep chill at bay maybe a medicinal whisky later if the battle rages on.

  4. Happy Independence Day, Silvia! Our family pretty much keeps the same celebration every year – grilling burgers and hot dogs, swimming and watermelon.

  5. Happy Independance Day to you. :)

  6. We don’t have fireworks in Santa Cruz–unless you count the “illegal” ones on the beach that the police have finally thrown up their hands. :-) I do miss them, but we have official fireworks in October to celebrate the city’s anniversary. Happy 4th and enjoy your fireworks!

  7. Happy Fourth of July back at you! It’s a day for me to remember how lucky I am to have been born here, with all of this country’s advantages. This year we have our son home on leave with us – he’s having friends over to spend the day at our pool and go see some fireworks tomorrow night.
    Loved spending time on the beach (Newport) when we lived in CA – I am a confirmed beach bum!
    Enjoy your time with your family tomorrow!

  8. The beach was always a favorite place to hang out for the 4th we were more red than any firework :)
    Enjoy your day in the sun!

  9. So glad to hear you will be enjoying your holiday. I love our American celebrations. Cheers! sammy

  10. I do love fireworks! I will be watching some over my vacation lake this week. As an immigrant, I’m sure the pomp of Independence Day reminds you of your journey to live in the U.S. I wish more American-born people felt that way.

  11. Happy 4th of July!

    I live in the UK, so not applicable to me, but it’s still nice to hear how others are celebrating :)

  12. Have a Happy fourth of July at the beach and enjoy the fireworks and hot dogs. :)

  13. Happy 4th July! I’ve only once been in the States for the fireworks and it was great fun.

  14. SO jealous! We visited Hermosa Beach a few years ago and it was the best time. Your sand is really hard to walk on, I noticed, but I loved the strand. I would love to live in one of those houses that overlook the beach and go out there walking every morning. (Sigh.) We live 6.5 hours from the nearest beach (Pensacola), so I only get to set foot on sand once every few years. We need to take a trip to the beach at least once a year.

  15. My son moved to Redondo from Santa Monica this past week…I look forward to exploring it with him. Happy Fourth of July weekend! – Fawn

  16. No beaches by us but we do have a wealth of lakes to choose from, some with sandy shores. Volleyball games get set up, Frisbees fly through the air, and the smell of roasted hotdogs and marshmallows make it even better.

  17. We were at the beach BBQing and watching the World Cup with a group of crazy Brazilians…we did a toast to the US. :)
    Maggie@expatbrazil

I welcome your thoughts.

