Soccer (Futbol) Fever

2386955_big-lnd

Has the U.S. caught futbol fever?

Low-grade perhaps, on the verge of erupting into something bigger. That would be nice, but the severity of such malady depends on the team’s performance. 

I grew up in E. Europe where futbol is a big. No, it’s huge. And during the European Cup or the World Cup, futbol is everything and everywhere. But not so in the U.S, or at least not in the previous World Cups.

The main complaint I hear goes something like this: it takes forever to score, and some games (the entire 90+ minutes) end without a goal. Booooring!

I guess that’s not the only complaint. You can’t blame the fans of a team that keeps getting eliminated in the first round. Sure we made it to Elite 8 once, but that’s because many European countries didn’t show up given the Bosnian war at the time.

But this year, the U.S. team advances, even with a loss against Germany (the technicalities of points put the U.S. team ahead of Ghana and Portugal, both eliminated).

The best thing coming out of this? The fans are going crazy. And I’m shaking my head, still unable to believe futbol fever (however low-grade-ish) has finally reached America!

10413002_300525536792941_2039546342_n

Say what? Folks eschewing work in favor of the game?

—–

Image courtesy: Tall Wanderer; fifa.com

13 responses to “Soccer (Futbol) Fever

  1. To prove my American ignorance… World Cup… Futbol,,, WHAT’S that? Yup, I don’t pay any attention to the championship games. However, I AM betting that there were some bets flying around in that office, in order to find so many people crowded around the TV. ;-)

    • Haha. No worries Gwynn. The fever hasn’t spread throughout quite yet. Maybe if the U.S. soccer team continues to advance, it will. (World Cup is in Brazil. If anything, the scenery they show before and after games is beautiful).

  2. It’s fun to watch, Silvia. But you are right about being less interested when we lose early! I have enjoyed some of the other games (not U.S.). Cheers, mdc

  3. America gets soccer fever every four years, at least in the adult population, but here in NC, soccer is the most popular sport for boys/men ages 12-24. It can be boring with no score over 90 minutes, but this is pretty typical for the World Cup, where most of the teams are pretty darn good. The largest attendance for a World Cup was here in the US when we hosted it a while back. As more Hispanics come to the US, I think it will become even more popular. We were a soccer family for many years because my son Patrick played on a Select traveling team from age 6-18, as well as school varsities. We saw parts of NC that I’ll bet most people living here have never seen!

  4. I’m not watching it, but I am kind of glad “the fever” is catching on in America since it is so popular on other continents.

  5. It’ll pass. It’s like when the Lakers are winning. Everybody’s into basketball. When the Lakers are losing, suddenly basketball isn’t the main topic of conversation. We’re fair weather fans.

    • I think that’s because the Lakers seem to always have huge stars — Magic, Kobe, etc., and they bring in the audiences. Probably what we need in soccer, a big-time player like that. Thanks, Liz.

  6. I’ve never experienced football fever, but my husband does. And when it’s on the tube, he gets so loud that our dog hides under the bed.
    Deb@ http://debioneille.blogspot.com

  7. strokesurvivoreva

    I’ve always loved soccer. My dad used to take me to see the NY Cosmos at the old Yankee Stadium when Pele played…a long, long time ago!! :) I guess it was a love he brought with him from Hungary. We’d also go to the local park and kick the ball around around; I got to be pretty good at it.

    I stopped following after they got rid of the league and I didn’t find anyone who was interested in the sport, although I do indulge in an occasional match when I find the time.

I welcome your thoughts.

