Thankful Thursday

trees

I’m thankful. “Is there a specific reason,” you may ask.  And no, there isn’t.

The world is not perfect, and we can’t make it so, although we can always try. Plans take years to get going, and then stagnate. Plans having to do with writing, work, time — there is never, ever, ever enough time to do half the things I have to do.

My favorite uncle in Romania passed away recently (he didn’t die young at 83, but still, people only die once). So this could easily be a post about sadness, or complaining. And God knows I’m a pro when it comes to moaning and groaning. Then I look around me and see so much to be thankful for.  

My family                                                                                                     My voice: so good to be able to speak up against and for anything  For the sun                                                                                              Good health                                                                                          Books                                                                                                            The beautiful sight of California hawks flying over the canyon Laughter                                                                                                       The seasons                                                                                                 For my writing                                                                                           The beautiful trees outside my office window (shown above)                                                          Sushi                                                                                                              Music                                                                                                            For everything I’ve experienced in this life of mine                           Friends I have and friends I’ve yet to meet

If contentment is a state of mind, one I have control over, I’m thankful.

 

 

21 responses to “Thankful Thursday

  1. As I am. A lovely post — thank you for sharing this positive message. – Fawn

  2. Yes, yes, and yes. The simplest of events are the most about which to be thankful.

  3. Sorry about your uncle. Thank you for the lovely post. :-)

  4. May your uncle rest in peace. Always a time of sadness. Yet in amongst the sadness is remembrance and thankfulness. Lovely photo of those magnificent trees, whose branches may break and die as do loved ones.
    Thank you Sylvia .. a lovely reminder of how much there is to be thank-full for.
    Garden of Eden Blog

  5. Hi Silvia, I am new to your blog. Hilary told me about your A-Z blogs about Romania because I am about to go there with several friends. I would love to share your blogs about Romania with them. Is there any way we can download all of them at once? My email is kandgwalker@comcast.net
    Thanks, Silvia

  6. And, I’m THANKFUL for you being out there in cyberspace! I am sorry about your uncle’s passing, but you know what; I’m betting he is in a more comfortable and happy place. This getting old is NOT for the faint of heart! However, we STILL have to be thankful for the many blessings we still have.

    Thanks for being so positive! ;-)

  7. Great attitude, Silvia! Thanks for adjusting mine…
    Tina @ Life is Good
    On the Open Road! @ Join us for the 4th Annual Post-Challenge Road Trip!

  8. It’s always good to be thankful. Especially during the sadder times.

  9. Very uplifting post, Silvia. We have so many reminders of thankfulness if we take time to notice. When we lose our elderly family members, it is a rightful order, but still holds loss for our world as time passes to a younger generation.

  10. Even when hardships or sad things happen, taking the time to look around us will inevitably make us realize how much we have to be thankful for. Thanks for such a lovely post, Silvia.

  11. Lovely post, and a great way to start my Friday. Thanks for passing that contentment on. Sorry about your uncle.

    Fondly,
    Elizabeth

  12. Loni Townsend

    Yes! A lot of things to be thankful for! It’s great to see positive and appreciative attitudes out there.

  13. Lovely post. Today, I’m thankful for the warm weather, rides with the Biker Chef, my kids home and healthy, and a nice home.

  14. Your usual thoughtful and thought-provoking post, Sylvia. I’m sorry to hear about your uncle – his life was long and I hope it was a good one. He certainly must have seen a lot of Romanian history.

  15. Really nice post, Silvia. I try to be grateful each day. Sometimes it’s 4pm and I realize that I haven’t shown gratefulness yet. You’re so right, there’s so much to be grateful for and it’s really the little things. My material grandmother lived a great part of her life with both legs amputated because of diabetes and later in the last months of her life my mother lost one of her legs. When I find myself wishing that my legs were slimmer so I could get into the skinny jeans I then am grateful that I have both my legs. I am grateful that I can bike. I can walk. I can do downward dog.
    Sorry about your uncle. I liked what you said about you only die once.
    Have a peaceful weekend. :)

  16. A beautiful post, Silvia. I love the message.
    Deb@ http://debioneille.blogspot.com

  17. It is a lovely reminder to count our blessings in adversities and be thankful for what we have. I am glad that you were able to do it … :)

I welcome your thoughts.

