U is for Universal Love

The_BLU_FLAG

There is nobility in the human character.

I’ve heard so many stories. Witnessed a few as well: teenager giving his sandwich to a homeless man, a woman pulling over to the side of the road to rescue a dog barely dodging incoming traffic. Righteous people, not looking for praise.

For every bit of nobility, however, there seems to be ten times as much conflict.

To finish writing this post I had to turn off the TV — which has been on CNN a lot lately. The situation in Eastern Europe and South America has kept me between PBS and CNN, eager for news.

But enough is enough.  There is a difference between keeping informed and watching the informed people opine. And there’s a lot to talk about at the moment — much of it hitting close to home (Romania).

Better to focus on love. “On universal love, humaneness, and righteousness … as emotions, properly channeled, help one stay on the proper path.”  ~~ Confucian theory

The flag above  — created in 2001 by Joan M. Manos, resident of New Jersey — resonated with me. A symbol of Universal Love, a flag without borders, representing peace and freedom and harmony. We’re but a tiny speck in the universe, why not be the best speck?

From Romania to California to wherever you are in the world:    love & peace to all.

~~~ A quick side note: Today, I’m up at Andrea’s blog, (fellow AtoZer and blogger extraordinaire), where we talk all things music (and I share a picture of my husband Leo playing one of his music shows). Please stop by, and if you feel so inclined leave a comment.

—-

Image: Universal Love flag, by Joan Manos, Wikimedia Commons.

 

 

26 responses to “U is for Universal Love

  1. That is definitely something to strive for.

  2. I agree. Universal love is essential and very much needed in our societies. I enjoyed reading your blog and will be back for more!

  3. Hi Silvia .. there’s much to consider what is happening in many places around the world – and I’m sure Ukraine is ‘worrying’ you a great deal. Why we can’t all live happily together I fail to understand .. so my thoughts are with you and your countrymen and all in Eastern Europe … then Syria, Sudan .. and all countries where there’s major strife, and also where there is major poverty .. why leaders have to be bullies I just don’t understand.

    So excellent entry for U – Universal Love and the flag is very appropriate … thanks for this reminder – Hlary

  4. The flag is beautiful and so are your thoughts – just uttering these unconditional words raises the vibration thank you Silvia. I’ve been wondering if the situation is affecting Romania …we are all affected in one way or the other. Peace and unconditional love to all.
    Garden of Eden Blog

  5. Lots to think about here. You make a good point about the fine line about being informed and just watching informed people opine. It seems that sometimes, we can become almost addicted to news coverage. And it hijacks our emotional well-being. There has to be a balance, and your post is a reminder of that.

  6. That is a beautiful flag. I know what you mean about overdosing on news. Or overdosing on the newspeople repeating the stories . . . Happy Thursday!

  7. I’m at a point where I virtually skim the paper and seldom watch the news as I can’t deal with the violence and hatred in this world. It seems to have escalated too. I wish there were more people in the world like you that cared for others. The flag is gorgeous. I do wish more people would adopt it. I loved your post… a great way to start off my morning up here in the NW.

  8. “There is a difference between keeping informed and watching the informed people opine.” That’s why I tend to keep away from those major “news” stations. :)

  9. The news always speaks on the negative. For every good story there are 100 that are bad…why? Why do people slow down at accidents? Why do people have radios to listen in on the police and firemen? We are attracted to that dark side and we are manipulated because of it. There is random acts of kindness every day we just don’t hear about it. So many actors say they love to play someone evil as the good is “boring”. I love this concept of universal Love and believe it will win out. Good to turn off the TV as it can do so much harm when listening to all the fear mongering. Think about Ghandi and Nelson Mandela and look what they accomplished

  10. I’m sure we have a lot of love in this world. What we need to do is not focus on the negative as much as we do. This is my hope, anyway! <3 thanks for sharing!

    Jamie Dement (LadyJai)
    My A to Z
    Caring for My Veteran

  11. I totally agree with you Silvia, news make us informed but why is that information always about the mad, ugly things that happen? Surely there’s just as many (if not more) positive news as well. It’s really sad that our culture focuses on the tragic side of life.

  12. I wondered what you thought about, and if you were keeping up with, what is going on in Eastern Europe. I like the post for today!

  13. Love which leads to a righteous life are a beautiful combination. Each standing alone is incomplete.

  14. We stopped watching TV news several wars ago. We’ll only watch now if something is going on somewhere we care about ie Egypt. I read newspapers because I can skim what i don’t want to read

    there is a lot of good in the world and it is overshadowed by the wars, greed and selfish nature of humankind

  15. Lovely post, Silvia. There’s so much sadness and craziness in the world right now. I want to know what’s happening, but the news orgs milk it for all it’s worth, and that can make me cynical. Like Susan, I scan the newspaper to read what I want.

  16. This is a beautiful post, Silvia. And I know what you mean by having to turn away from the opines sometimes. Me too. I was already over at Andrea site, so I saw the interview. Very nice. I was so surprised to see you there, and made my day.
    Best,
    Deb@ http://debioneille.blogspot.com

  17. I’m with you here Silvia – love and peace back!

  18. Yes indeed, Love is the truth. When the negative stuff gets stacked up so high I can’t see straight, I think of what Saint Paul says: “Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, if anything is excellent or praiseworthy, think about such things.”

  19. Well said! I have to limit my news-listening time because the negativity and arguing wears on me. I never tire of stories of love and hope, though.

I welcome your thoughts.

