Rivers

 

Romania-List_of_longest_rivers_of_Romania[1]

King of Dacia, near Danube River

Rivers are beauties of nature, rushing among meadows and pastures, mountains and forests.

Aside from serving as important sources of hydroelectric power and irrigation, the rivers of Romania are perfect locations for camping, fishing, canoeing, or just immersing in nature. Because as the saying goes: Man’s heart away from nature becomes hard.

Most rivers spring from the Carpathian Mountains and are collected by the Danube, which flows along 1075 km, or 670 miles, forming almost the entire southern boundary of the country and ending with the Delta, a haven for local and migratory birds, such as the pelicans below. 

vorauer_europ_pelikan01_451130[1]A7E3C8364BC5F99B661D243DD751E3[1]

Here is a short list of said rivers, following the Danube (first picture above):

The Olt, the longest flowing exclusively through Romania.

5821504285_408e37131f[1]

Olt

The Somes, one of the most important in Transylvania as it has two headstreams.

somes-river[1]

Somes

The Arges, one I am familiar with and spent many days camping by. 

800px-RO_AG_Cepari_Topolog_river_2[1]

Arges

The Mures, largest after the Danube, brings to mind this quote: How strange that Nature does not knock, and yet does not intrude. ~ Emily Dickinson.

4491762428_71eb1967b5_z[1]

Mures

 ~~~

Thank you so much for reading and the comments. I appreciate each and every one. I hope you’ll return tomorrow, and allow me to introduce you to Romanian singers.

—-

Images: King of Dacia, near the Danube River, photo by MoEaFaTi on Flickr; www.flickriver.com; flicker. com; followhard.com; romaniainourhearts.wordpres.

 

36 responses to “Rivers

  1. Great post and some amazing pictures!

  2. The song ‘Moon River’ came to mind as I was reading this. Lovely post Silvia – and the quote by Emily Dickinson and photos. Happy memories indeed! Garden of Eden Blog

  3. What a serene topic to begin the week!

  4. I’m enjoying being educated about Romania. Very lovely pictures too. Thank you.

  5. Nice pictures. I love swimming in rivers, camping by them, just hanging out on the bank of a river is so calming and peaceful.

  6. The images are amazing and I want to visit every river you mention! #AtoZchallenge ☮Peace ☮ ღ ONE ℒℴνℯ ღ ☼ Light ☼ visiting from http://4covert2overt.blogspot.com/

  7. Two things I could watch forever: fire and water. It’s amazing how beautiful water is and can be. It can also be incredible dangerous, which is why I’m glad I don’t live near a river. The community pond out back is enough.

  8. I’ve never visited that part of the world. It’s so beautiful. And I hear the river cruises are wonderful. About gardens – I peeked – you live in California I live in Ontario – our garden is just now starting to spout a bit. Spouse said one of the gnomes he collects got crushed by the snow

  9. How beautiful Romanian rivers are. We don’t have many rivers in South Africa and none that are navigable in the European sense (as in large vessels).

  10. Great post, great pictures!

  11. Rivers all have a life and story of their own. Thanks for capturing a bit of each river :)

  12. They certainly are! I love passing over a river while on the road and just looking across it. That picture of the sunset on the water is breathtaking.

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  13. Oooh, pretty. I love rivers. We don’t have so many of them around here (not with actual water in them, anyway).

  14. Great photos! One of the things on my bucket list is to rent a boat and go through the Danube from start to finish! One day…! :)

  15. Beautiful pictures! I had never seen that monument before, the King of Dacia… it looks amazing.

    Nancy at Hungry Enough To Eat Six
    2014 A to Z Challenge Participant

  16. Great post. I like the quote about man needing nature or his heart grows hard. Rivers tell stories.
    Play off the Page

  17. Rivers are the veins of the world. King of Dacia near the Danube? I have to see that some day.

  18. Oh beautiful rivers…as lovely as Brazil is my heart pines for the English countryside and Romania seems so similar. You need some cold weather to get that lush grass that you can lie back in and chew, the wild meadows and soft flowing rocky rivers, magical, I miss it!
    Loving the A to Z Challenge Maggie@expatbrazil.

  19. I would love to see some of these rivers, especially the ones in Transylvania! Lovely!

  20. I love rivers and these are certainly beautiful. Thank you for sharing them with us.

    http://ceciliaaclark.blogspot.com.au

  21. Lovely photographs. Thank you. When I lived in Slovakia for two years, the Danube was green from the chemicals. I’m sorry I missed its beautiful blue color.

  22. Hi Silvia .. had to come by for your Rivers … I always forget that the Danube runs west to east …. almost seems the ‘wrong way’t to me! I wrote about the Iron Curtain and how it had left a wonderful pristine nature reserve … as it had been left untouched for so many years .. one of the advantages of the wall coming down …

    I must say the photos look glorious and just ready for a picnic and a heady zizz!! Cheers Hilary

  23. I’d not realised that the Danube ran along so much of Romania…I would happily spend time by those rivers with a good book. Lovely thanks
    maggie@expatbrazil

  24. Very informative…
    And your narrative flows like a river too…

    Good one!

I welcome your thoughts.

