I is for Interrelated

all life is interrelated. We are … all tied into a single garment of destiny.” ~ Martin Luther King, Jr. 

 A-picture-of-a-crowd-of-people

While writing my posts on Romania, one thought stopped me mid keyboard stroke.  Am I highlighting differences between people while showing another part of the world, another culture?

The answer struck me as remarkable — no matter where we hail from or our cultural differences, we are so much alike.

Let me take a step back and say: we are poles apart in many ways.

If you travel to Romania, and venture outside major cities, you’d be lost without a guide. People don’t speak your language, they prepare dishes you’ve never heard of, live in houses different from yours, have opinions you might find offensive, and the list goes on.

Having lived in two different countries, on two continents, I know one thing for sure: at our very core we are exactly alike. Brothers and sisters. One and the same.

We spend our lives in search of love, acceptance. The competition for resources, the need to be with like-minded individuals, causes us to gather in groups, but the differences are minor compared to the similarities.

We know that genetically humans share some 97% of their genes, no matter the race. The difference is not physical, but ideological. Even that is similar in general, but when it comes to sharing resources, and power, that is when differences are highlighted.

Why am I even going there? As an immigrant I’m aware, or have been made aware, of the Us and Them thought. Maybe this is only so with immigrants, I don’t know.

In L.A., where I live, every nationality is represented, every language spoken. A huge, universal group sharing one big place. While folks cry for inclusion, they remain divided in groups of their making. That’s normal, sure. That also makes people wary of one another. Creates the Us and Them groups.

I want to encourage the opposite with this month-long posting. I want to show you another part of the world as a way to invite nothing but warm fellowship, understanding.

Thank you for allowing me this short interlude — or, let’s just call it speech :). Give me yours in the comments section if you’d like.

~~~

Tomorrow, come meet Eugen Jebeleanu, Romanian poet, friend and later enemy of the Party. Happy A-Zing one and all! We can do this.

 

——

Image: Crowd of people, videopress wordpress.

32 responses to “I is for Interrelated

  1. Such an important post Silvia thank you. Here in South Africa (returned ex US yesterday) we’re still sadly stuck in the ideology of Us and Them in spite of 20 years of democracy due in great part to our current president and his power politics. Had we had Mr Mandela or someone of his ilk as ‘leader’, we’d be long past this as the majority of people here subscribe to fellowship and community.
    Garden of Eden Blog

  2. Excellent post…as Expats we maybe realise this more than most.
    Loving the A to Z Challenge Maggie@expatbrazil.

  3. I totally agree with you. People so often seem to focus on differences, when the similarities far outweigh them. Sue at http://suestrifles.wordpress.com

  4. if only us and them could be transformed into we our world would be a better place!

  5. Such a wonderful post, Silvia. Thank you so much.

  6. Silvia, when I read your posts or simply chat with you outside the challenge, I always notice how much we have in common. Thank you for showing me the similarities in the world, and for only showing me differences in an enlightening sort of way.
    Deb@ http://debioneille.blogspot.com

  7. Great post, Silvia! True, we are different in small ways, but we have to remember how alike we are when it comes to the bigger, more important things.

  8. I live in a very diverse area, and was raised with several people with varying backgrounds. I love learning, so I’m always fascinated.

  9. That was the part of living in NYC that I loved–the different cultures. In our church, we had an international night and had 17 nationalities represented for a small band of 150 people. Pretty epic if you love me. I love it when you get to cross those cultural boundaries and really come to know people as people, and I suppose that’s why we settled in the happiest place on earth, because here we can have diversity AND a little comfort. =)

  10. I totally agree. I live in Canada, traveled to the US and europe and last year to Egypt. People are kind all over. Don’t confuse the people with their political leaders. Even if I couldn’t understand the words people said their body language usually conveyed their intent.

  11. I believe division occurs not because we are different, but because of fear. And deep down, it’s not that we fear others, but something in ourselves. At least that’s my theory. ;)
    Wonderful post, Silvia!

  12. Great post, Sylvia. You have such a wonderful way of using words to express your perceptions beautifully. We experienced much of this when we lived in Prague and came to love the very different people there with our whole hearts.

  13. I agree that all people are interrelated but you make a great point when you say that although these people may come to a new country, they create little communities within that country. That kind of makes it difficult to find acceptance amongst others within that country. And it definitely becomes and us and them situation.

  14. Wonderful post Silvia, you have a way with words! -:)

  15. You said you find icicles fascinating – we get huge ones hanging off the side of the roof.

    One year when I was using a crutch I tried to hit one of the icicles to break it. Instead I broke the crutch!

  16. This is a really great post. Of course, your experiences are different from mine, so I appreciate the insights. I agree that we’re all essentially interrelated and from my perspective the differences seem superficial, at best.

    I just hope that one day we’ll be able to exist with our differences but find the commonalities that we share to bring us together.

  17. Well said. Learning about our differences is of little value if we forget how very much alike we are as well.

  18. This is such a beautiful post, Silvia. I agree. There are lots of similarities. We all have that fervent need for love and acceptance.

  19. Hi Silvia .. interrelated and interconnected – funny how our eyes get opened .. like you I’ve lived on two continents .. but have come home … it’s an interesting time in the world and we do so need to see the other side of things and not just from our own perspective … cheers Hilary

  20. I didn’t have a chance to read your blog post yesterday because I was in the cities with my boyfriend for an appointment. Before we left, we ate at Pittsburgh Blue, a very nice steak house. (I’ll write about it on P day.) Our waitress had an accent, so my boyfriend asked her where she was born. She asked us to guess. I said, “Romania,” and I was right. I gave her your name and told her about your blog and that you’re writing about Romania during the month of April. I hope she pops on here and makes a connection with you, because YES, we are all interrelated, and it’s a small world in so many ways.
    Play off the Page

  21. true, I feel this when I go to India. Another great inspirational post!

  22. “I want to show you another part of the world as a way to invite nothing but warm fellowship, understanding.”

    This is what makes me follow your l blog posts. They are filled with such beautiful energy. :)

  23. America’s cool that way. It seems like every other country struggles with heritage issues whereas we don’t have to worry about that. We’re just a great big mishmash of everyone. It frees us up and let’s us be creative in a lot of ways other countries can’t be, I think.

    But on a spiritual level yeah, I think we are all connected. Saint Paul refers to all believers in Christ as the family of faith. I like that. I like to think everyone will join that family someday.

  24. Fantastic post, eh… speech! I think you said it all here, I have nothing to add. I’m so much enjoying your A to Z Silvia, am happy that we’re not even half through yet!

I welcome your thoughts.

