F is for Frigarui (Romanian Kebab)

Frigarui din piept de pui cu legume

Yes, I’m biased. I think Romanians are some of the most hospitable people in the world. No, I haven’t traveled the whole world, so I have no actual means of comparison. So, here I defer to my American husband and friends, who called Romanian hospitality top-notch. 

From what I actually do know, one of the things Romanians are most proud of is their hospitality. And what better way to welcome someone into their house than with homemade cooking, and lots of it. The second best way, depending on who you ask, is to welcome friends with tuica (plum brandy), but good luck drinking the firewater.

But food, yes, people take pride in their cooking and are willing to offer friends or strangers the best they have.  

Romanian cuisine is diverse and continues old customs and traditions, along with habits from the intersection of culinary cultures of the area. Romanians being Christian, the cuisine contains many dishes according to the season appointed feasts and celebrations.

It’s difficult to pick among so many favorites, but one of the dishes I absolutely love for its simplicity and taste is Frigarui (similar to kebab). This can be an elaborate dish with several sides, if served in a home or restaurant, or it can be street food. Quick and easy. Either way it’s delicious, and easy to make.

So if you like kebab, and find yourself in the mood for something similar yet different, here’s one suggestion: Frigarui. Or if you find yourself in East Europe, and aren’t sure what to order, trust me. Go with Frigarui.

Many other dishes (stuffed cabbage with corn bread, or sausage which may be smoked and/or dry-cured, or soup soured with bors, a liquid made from wheat bran, cornstarch, cherry leafs) takes a little adjustment and requires one to be bold, to venture outside one’s comfort zone. But you won’t go wrong with Frigarui.

Bon appetite, or as we say in Romania Pofta buna.

~~ Tomorrow’s post is G for Gypsies. I hope you’ll return and let me know what you think. 

—–

Photo courtesy: http://www.restaurantescape.ro

33 responses to “F is for Frigarui (Romanian Kebab)

  1. My brother would absolutely agree with you that Romanian hospitality is outstanding. Next time I see him, I’ll ask if he tried Frigarui while he visited Romania with his girlfriend last year. Sure sounds yummy.

  2. Great. Now you made me hungry.

    And how I’d love to have some mici with plenty of mustard and fresh bread. Mmm…

  3. Delicious! Salivating here… :-)

  4. I’m salivating, too. Nothing wrong with Frigarui for breakfast! :-)

  5. That looks DELICIOUS! Happy A to Z.

  6. yummm. Romania is on my list of places to visit. I have heard they are a very hospitable people and good cooks.
    Thanks for making me hungry :)
    Happy A to zing
    Pound of Flesh

  7. Oh, yum! I hope I get a chance to try this. Maybe you could give us some recipes later on! The Czechs also have plum brandy, aka firewater. It’s called slivovice.

  8. I didn’t even know I was hungry.I am now trying to figure out where I could possibly get a Romanian Kebab. My 15 minute morning break is not going to leave me enough time to master this. Oh where can one order a Romanian Kebab. LOL! Yum!

  9. O o o, am salivating! In South Africa we also do kebabs, chicken, lamb meat etc and it’s all on the flavour. Thanks Silvia, great to hear about hospitality and food – they go together!
    Garden of Eden Blog

  10. Looks delicious! The seasonings sound good, and I like the idea of adding the veggies, too. Will have to try this. Thanks, Silvia!

  11. Oh yummy. I printed out the recipe and will make it this week. It looks delicious. Thanks for this post.

    Fondly,
    Elizabeth

  12. Delicious! Awaiting for tomorrows “G for Gypsies”

  13. Frigarui sounds wonderful, Silvia! I also am curious about Gypsies!

  14. My mouth is watering and I have just eaten dinner… sounds wonderful! I have never been to eastern Europe and I live much nearer than you!

    ~Liz A-Zer http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com ~Animal poems and facts, and info about my assistance dog!

  15. I’m a vegetarian, but I’m not afraid to say that Frigarui looks delicious! ;)

  16. Oh, that looks, and sounds, delicious!
    Carrie~Anne at That Dizzy Chick

  17. That looks delicious. :)

  18. It is nearly dinner time, I didn’t have lunch, and your kabob and descriptions of other foods have my stomach growling!

  19. Those look delicious! I love trying new recipes and these are definitely going on my list!

  20. Traveling is always enhanced with a bit of street food. While I prefer a vegetarian diet, I might have to try one of these if given the chance.

  21. The Romanian girl that stayed with me cooked a delicious chicken in a creamy tomato sauce and served it with mashed potaoes and vegatables…it was really good. Think I’d like the food similar in many ways to the UK.
    On the A to Z Challenge Maggie@expatbrazil.

  22. Hi Silvia .. the frigarui sounds very good .. but I rather like the idea of your stuffed cabbage with cornbread, or the smoked sausage .. I love different foods … and learning more .. cheers Hilary

  23. Looks and sounds so delicous Silvia! I just quickly browsed through the recipe, and got hungry. Although we just had dinner… Tempting post, this!

  24. Missy Delorenzo

    You know what I miss the most? Mititei… Do you remember them? My parents would buy them for me when we went to the local bar, they would get their beer and order mititei. I wish I knew how to make them. Same with coliva… I wish I had a good recipe for coliva as well (although the negative connotation with coliva would be a bit confusing).

    • Oh, you’re bringing back wonderful memories. I can get a recipe for coliva, if you’d like, but I don’t know how to make it myself. Mititei, that you can make with ground beef, though the spices are what matter. And I think that takes a lot of pepper and paprika. Lovely reading your comments!

I welcome your thoughts.

