Let’s Do This: Pre-Challenge Announcement

800px-EU_location_ROM

I’m excited. Do you want to know why?

April is Blogging from A to Z month. Tell everyone, if you haven’t already. Really, this is what blogging is all about. Spread the word. Make new friends. Build your community. Share ideas.

And this year I have a theme for the A-Z Challenge, which is … drumroll please …

Romania (seen on the map in orange).

That’s right. For the next twenty-six days, I will tell you the story of my native country, a story based on a life lived there (on and off) for twenty-two years, and a little research.

I moved the U.S. in 1992, three years after the Revolution, the overthrow of a dictator and his despotic government, when our hopes did spring eternal. Didn’t take long to see change wasn’t coming, at least not fast enough.

So. I went away to study abroad and gain international experience, eventually got a job, later got married, and here I am twenty-two years later. A Romanian-American, living in Los Angeles.

As the Nigerian writer, Chimamanda Adichie, said: tell your stories or someone else will tell them, and they’ll be wrong

I will tell you the story of Romania, a country located in Eastern Europe. I’ll take you to the land of poet Mihai Eminescu, the misunderstood Vlad Tepes, Prince of Wallachia, the land of a people from Dacian and Roman descent, the largest Gypsy population in Europe, a land formerly ruled by a dictator, a place with beautiful mountains and valleys, the Danube Delta, the Black Sea, rich traditions and delicious frigarui (Romanian kebab).  

Want to know another cool thing? There are blog hops within the A-Z Challenge. One of them is the A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal BlogFest. Add your name to the list, and reveal your theme on March 21st. No theme? Come chat, and maybe you’ll get some ideas, or choose to remain spontaneous. It’s all good.

Excited yet? Perfect. I’m delighted you’ve stopped by, and hope you’ll join me on this month-long journey to Romania, a land both old and new.

——

Photo courtesy: Wikimedia, Creative Commons.

49 responses to “Let’s Do This: Pre-Challenge Announcement

  1. I’m looking forward to reading your posts about Romania, Silvia.

  2. Romania – always such a fascinating country with its political turmoil, gypsy lore, and no doubt some beautiful countryside and interesting urban areas I know nothing about. I picked you because you are listed near me on the Theme reveal, and look forward to April visits to Romania! Sammy D at http://www.bemuzin.com

  3. I have been waiting a long time to read your writing about your native country. I am so excited!

  4. What a cool idea for a theme! I am excited to learn about Romania and what it was like to live there. http://laughingatlife232.blogspot.com/

  5. Awesome! I love learning about different countries. A fantastic theme, Silvia;)
    WriterlySam
    resident bartender for A to Z Theme Reveal Party!

  6. Ah, perfect theme choice, of course! Looking forward to reading!

  7. Hi Silvia! I love the theme. It will be fun to read about your home country.

  8. An interesting theme Silvia… and educational too!
    I’m looking forward to learning more about Romania.

  9. I’m looking forward to learning about Romania from you and Sweden from Tina! Blogging (like travel) broadens our horizons. I’ve revealed at http://suestrifles.wordpress.com Sue

  10. Love it, Silvia! You know (you do, right?) that I’m a history buff, so this would’ve been a month-long treat for me if you’d chosen to write about Finland or Argentina–but ROMANIA! I *loooove* Romania–and know so freakin’ little of its history. Yeay, yeah, vampires and Transylvania and whatever… No, I want the beyond. Reality is so much more fascinating than fiction–which sounds weird coming from a writer of fiction, haha. Aaand… somehow your blog inspires me to get up on my soap box. I’m stopping now. But I’ll be back, often. I promise to keep my comments to an acceptable word limit (2K sound about right? :D )

  11. I’m sure you have some very interesting things to share. Romania sounds like a country filled with amazing history and culture.

    MJ, A to Z Challenge Co-Host
    Writing Tips
    Effectively Human
    Lots of Crochet Stitches

  12. Hi Silvia .. yes – definitely yours will be interesting for us to join you on your tour of your homeland .. cheers Hilary

  13. I’m so glad you’ve found the idea to write the stories that are untold – what an inspiration. Looking forward to reading them!
    Jemima
    #TeamDamyanti
    Blogging from Alpha to Zulu in April

  14. What a fantastic idea. It’s always great to learn about other places.

  15. Hi Silvia, I enjoyed your posts in the 2012 #atozchallenge and I am sure I will again. I don’t live so far from Romania and have always felt that somewhere in my Italian blood there might be a touch of Romanian, I hope to visit soon enough… By the way the link you posted in the comment on my blog was broken – it looked like this
    Silvia @
    https://silviatomasvillalobos.wordpress.com/2014/03/20/lets-do-this-pre-challenge-announcement/comment-page-1/#comment-1994

    Reflex Reactions

  16. I love this quote -” As the Nigerian writer, Chimamanda Adichie, said: tell your stories or someone else will tell them, and they’ll be wrong.” I am going to have to share that a lot. When you hear the stories, write them down because no matter how much you think you will never forget them, you will.

  17. This is one I look forward to, Silvia! I’ll follow closely and look forward to learn more about Romania.

  18. Hi Silvia. I can’t wait to read your stories. One of my upcoming series deals with a family from Romania, and I have much research to do. :)

  19. Interesting idea, and will probably be very informative as well! I’m going to be interested to see how you manage to use each of the letters for this one!

  20. Looking forward to learning about Romania next month!!

  21. Omg.. thats cool, the topic .. waiting for the posts…

  22. Romania! I’m sure most of us have lot to learn about your homeland. This is a very good topic to take on. Who says A to Z isn’t educational?

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote
    An A to Z Co-host blog

  23. OMG! Romania. Since I read Bram Stoker’s Dracula in 7th grade and followed the geographical research of where Transylvania was to learn about Romania and it’s most famous/infamous ruler Vlad Tepes, Prince of Wallachia, I’ve wondered about this country. They taught us next to nothing about it in History or Geography. This will be a great blog to read – I may tell my teen son to read it as well. Can’t wait.

    *~MAJK~*
    A-to-Z Challenge 2014
    Mighty Minion of Co-Host Nicole Ayers
    @Safireblade on Twitter
    http://www.safireblade.com/

  24. Hallo, Hallo fellow A2Z’er! :)

    I had a bit of a “late, late” like the Rabbit of Alice in Wonderland start to the A to Z Reveal today! Thankfully, everyone has been posting their Reveal posts to Twitter, and thereby, I am able to visit & hop! :)

    One of the main reasons I love sinking into historical fiction is to watch how countries I have not had the pleasure of visiting burst to life off the page! I love soaking into their traditions, cultures, and seeing what the local foods involve as much as the differences in thoughts, observations, and approaches to everyday living! I like becoming immersed in the richness of global societies through the stories others leave behind for us to find. Therefore, I was much encouraged reading that your setting up your personal challenge to include antidotes & reflective pieces about your country! I love Europe and Romania always had held a bit of mystery about her history, and I personally am going to enjoying returning to see what you reveal within each alphabet post!

    How a wicked sweet time blogging!
    I’m quite excited myself! :)
    I’m a first timer btw!

    Jorie A to Z Reveal Post

  25. Lovely theme! It would be nice to know a country in such detail :)

  26. I’m very excited to read about Romania. Good luck on the challenge.

  27. Romania has always seemed like and intriguing and mysterious country. I know I have a lot to learn, and I’m looking forward to it. :)

  28. Oh that does sounds great, I had a Romanian girl stay with me last year as a workaway and she was a delight. We talked a lot about the history of Romania so I’m looking forward to this Silva. I hope I get my act together this week to enter, so behind due to internet problems. *sigh*. :)

  29. This will definitely be a great read! I look forward to you sharing your home country!

    Carrie~Anne at That Dizzy Chick

  30. Great idea! I’m late joining this A to Z challenge, so I missed the announcement, but I’ll be blogging right alongside everyone.

  31. This will be fascinating, for sure! Good luck, Silvia.

  32. I don’t know a lot about Romania. Your posts should be interesting.

  33. I did it! I did it! I’ll be able to sleep tonight after all!
    thanks, Silvia! (I saved the directions you gave me a few days ago.)
    Debi O’Neille, writing against the wind

  34. I am very excited to learn more about the country of your birth.
    Cheers to a great new challenge, April, Spring, and writing adventures.

  35. It would a pleasure to learn more about your country. I have never been there, and likely never will. a href=”http://shells-tales-sails.blogspot.com/” rel=”nofollow”>Shells–Tales–Sails

  36. As a fellow emigrant from the region (born in Hungary, living now in Ireland) I’m really looking forward to your posts about Romania! Despite being neighbours, never actually got to visit your country!
    My topic will be “Music is everywhere” and was wondering if you’d like to be one of the bloggers interviewed as part of the A to Z Challenge. I was looking for someone who’ll write about travel-related topics and also Guilie Castillo recommended you :) Drop an email to musicfanandrea at gmail (com) if you’re interested :)
    See you during April either way!
    – Andrea

  37. Oh how cool! So we’ll each be writing about our homeland! Awesome! Can’t wait to learn more.
    Tina @ Life is Good
    A to Z Team @ Blogging From A to Z April Challenge 2014

  38. You are writing about your home, I will write about my family! Family history is my theme. I look forward to learning more about Romania!
    Gail at Making Life An Art

  39. I will enjoy reading about Romania in the A to Z challenge. For my theme I have chosen an adjective for each letter of the alphabet. Come on over to Triggershorse and see what develops! – Fawn

  40. Looking forward to your posts on Romania!!

  41. Wow, Sylvia. I did not know this. AND, what’s really interesting too is that just this week I got an editing job to edit the memoirs of a woman from Romania, Virginia Prodan, who went against the government and had to face a hired killer, standing in her law office holding a gun to her. Fabulous story. What a horrible regime.

I welcome your thoughts.

