Calling All Bloggers: Blogging from A-Z April Challenge

A2Z-BADGE-0002014-small_zps8300775c

I didn’t know what to expect from my participation in the Blogging from A-Z April Challenge last year. My first blogfest. Frankly, I was a little scared. No, I was terrified. Blogging daily, reading other blogs — hundreds of them — takes serious commitment.

I wrote and scheduled posts in advance. I visited participating bloggers regularly, tried to familiarize myself with the rules, and met the co-hosts. I met Tina. If you sign up, please take a moment to visit Tina’s blog, Life is good. She is extremely helpful and writer of great, honest posts.

Finally, April 1st arrived and we were ‘Go for launch.’

I had a blast (to keep with NASA lingo here). Sure, it took a lot of energy. Staying on schedule, visiting hundreds of blogs, making last moment corrections to my posts, replying to comments — took time and dedication.  

The upside was extremely rewarding. I met bloggers from all around the world. I think I became a better writer (there is no substitute for practice, is there? And writing daily sure helps in that regard). I learned (and continue to) how social media — this huge cyber world — works. How content is so important, how to make search engine optimization work for my blog.  

Yes, a month-long of blogging does that. And more.

So, can you post every day (starting with letter A and moving on from there) except Sundays during the month of April? Can you make time to visit other bloggers (and comment, of course)?

Sign up is HERE

There are also blog hops within the challenge. One is  A-Z Theme Reveal Blogfest. Talk about  fun. We also have Insecure Writers Support Group and Blog Blitz.

 A-to-Z-Challenge-theme-revealIWSG badgeBlog Blitz Edit

I’m excited just thinking about April. Looking forward to visiting friends, reconnecting with old friends, and meeting new bloggers.

Here’s to blogging and community fun.

 ~~ Silvia @ Facebook

25 responses to “Calling All Bloggers: Blogging from A-Z April Challenge

  1. It really is a great way to build up your posts and get to know the craft. This is my third year of the Challenge and I started out with Tina as my captain. Now I’m one of Lee’s ambassadors. I hope you have fun in this year’s Challenge. Thanks for a great post.

  2. Hi Silvia.Thanks for stopping at my place.
    I’m all signed up for the A to Z Theme Reveal and the April Challenge.
    Yes, the A to Z Challenge is an amazing online event. This will be my 4th year participating and I’m one of Alex’s Ninja Minions.
    Tina is such a supportive blogger buddy – an absolute honey!
    Glad to have met you, and I look forward to connecting with you during the A to Z Challenge… :)

  3. Hey Sylvia, what a nice treat to see this today. Was having a rather frustrating day when all you can do with your “to do” list is mark the task “in progress”. Then you see someone sharing about an event which changed my life and the lives of so many, and then they say nice things about you and you just can’t help but grin from ear to ear. Thanks, my friend. I’m so glad I met you, too. It’s going to be another great year!

    Tina @ Life is Good
    A to Z Team @ Blogging From A to Z April Challenge 2014

  4. Hey, tweeted this,but could’t find you on Twitter. If you’re on, please let me know your name so I can personalize it and get you more traffic!
    ~Tina

  5. Have planned to sign up, so this is a great reminder! Last year was my first year too, and it was a positive experience, but yes, you do need to dedicate a lot of time. I agree with you it’s time well spent!

  6. I have signed up (think I am #256) and now am planning, gearing up to write! I think this will be my 3rd (4th) yr. participation.

  7. February almost over – when March arrives A-Z will be next month!!! O it will be fun! Great post Sylvia thanks – ratcheting up the adrenalin!

  8. Yes, it’s a blast. I think that’s how I met you. I’m getting my ideas down and making plans for April!
    Blogging now at http://www.playoffthepage.com.

  9. I remember my first A – Z, and I felt much the same way. Now I’ve been participating for a couple of years, and it’s one of the best blog hops I’ve ever joined!

    MJ, A to Z Challenge Co-Host
    Writing Tips
    Effectively Human
    Lots of Crochet Stitches

  10. I signed up again this year. Looking forward to reading your daily A-Z musings. Last year I had no theme at all – trying to come up with something this time.

  11. Hi Silvia .. I’m sure that’s how we met last year: and I’m in this year. Just need to get my skates on and get organised.

    It is a great way of meeting some truly wonderful bloggers and friends – Tina is definitely one – as are many others …

    Doing as much as we can without stressing ourselves too much, yet taking the opportunity to learn.

    Enjoy – I know I will … and this is a wonderful post .. cheers Hilary

  12. I skipped last year, and I felt all belonely. Looking forward to it this year! Then I might do Story-A-Day-in-May again. ~points to self~ Glutton for punishment. lol

  13. Consider me in… Already signed up and looking forward to it ;)

  14. I can’t wait Silvia, Didn’t we meet last year during the challenge? Great reason to join people…meet wonderful bloggers and fabulous writers!

  15. Glad you’re on board for another Challenge! This will be my fifth and my fourth to co-host. Wouldn’t miss it for anything.

  16. This is my first time doing the A-Z Challenge and I am thoroughly looking forward to it and trying to plan ahead. It sounds like a great opportunity to meet fellow bloggers.

  17. I did A to Z last year for the first time too and simply loved the experience. It was mainly because we had a community of bloggers. Blogging, interacting with them all through the month added so much fun to our blogging. Looking forward to all the fun and meeting new bloggers this April too. See you around.
    Cheers
    Shilpa Garg
    AJ’s wHooligan for the A to Z Challenge 2014

  18. I signed up for the challenge too. I am super excited and kinda freaked out. It’s my first year :) But I know it’s going to be a lot of fun!

  19. Thanks for these links. I’m signed up, but haven’t been paying as much attention as I probably should be. This is my first year to try the A to Z Challenge, so I’m eager to see how it goes.

  20. I will have to check out that insecure writer’s group. :-)

I welcome your thoughts.

