Social-Media Experts?

images

If you have a blog (and you probably do if you’re reading this one), you’ve likely come into contact with social-media experts. Now, let me be clear, I’m not discussing the real experts out there. I’m sure they exist and have a lot to offer.

But … with the web functioning by and large as an unregulated industry, one has to wonder what makes all the people who want to help me advance my social-media skills experts? Someone in my inbox even called himself a social media guru. And he claimed to have the expertise to transform any given platform overnight. Fascinating.

Then, there are those who DIRECT.  They can be found not only in my spam folder, but Facebook and other venues. Don’t ever forget to link toHow could anyone disagree that … This is written not as an opinion, but THE LAW.

I have been on social media for quite a bit and have never been so  inundated with expert advice. Or commanded to do certain things. Whatever happened to PLEASE? 

So, in case the social media guru (or his expert colleagues) reads this, I looked up the definition of expert. Just in case, you know, there’s any confusion.

ex·pert  (ĕkspûrt)

n.

1. A person with a high degree of skill in or knowledge of a certain subject.

2.  having, involving, or displaying special skill or knowledge derived from training or experience

a. The highest grade that can be achieved in marksmanship.

b. A person who has achieved this grade.

adj. (ĕkspûrt, ĭk-spûrt)

Having, involving, or demonstrating great skill, dexterity, or knowledge as the result of experience or training.

 Word of mouth:  is how I usually seek recommendations on experts or anything else. How about you?

—–

Photo: quickmeme.com

13 responses to “Social-Media Experts?

  1. Good post! The social media experts have proliferated along with the social media and for the most part, I disregard them. If I want advice, I (like you) ask a friend or a colleague to recommend someone, someone tried and tested and found to give good advice. I think the issue is TRUST.

  2. Interesting…in my critique group recently, we were talking about taking advice, if we do, and if so, from whom. I seek out and/or listen to advice either from people I’m close to or from a source I know to be knowledgeable on the subject in question. Like noelleg44, I just ignore the spam from so-called “experts”!

  3. This has been sitting on top of me lately. The idea of “experts” and how one becomes one and who they are. Who are “they” really, anyway? And then it made me think about myself and how I present myself. Hmmm…. Need to check on that. Thanks Silvia!

  4. Well, if you ask me, you should take everything with a grain of salt, chalk it up to their writing style, listen attentively to see if any of the advice will help you, smile, leave a comment and hope to make a new blogging friend. Most people mean no harm by sharing the things they learn with others, even if they do forget to say please sometimes.

    • Excellent points, M.J. I’m all about sharing. I forgot to mention these experts are of the ‘expertise for a fee’ variety and somehow getting past my spam filters. Cleaning up, though, as I’m getting ready for the A-Z Challenge.

  5. I agree. Many moons ago when I did training stuff for a living, someone defined expert as “someone who used to be able to do it, but now fizzles out quickly.”. Enough said, I think!
    Looking forward to finding out what your theme for the April A to Z Challenge will be!

    Jemima
    #TeamDamyanti
    A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal Blogfest – sign ups now open!

  6. Hi Silvia, glad to see you have signed up for the challenge again, as have I. There were some useful expert opinions that helped me a lot… I have found that when I need advice it has a way of finding me… trial and error is still my greatest teacher… don’t be afraid to touch the buttons unless your a child… then don’t touch them without permission from a grown up :D

  7. Hi Silvia .. I certainly wouldn’t take on someone else’s advice unless I knew them, had seen their blogposts etc and knew them from blogging (as that’s all I do) … I agree – people are sharks quite often, and probably brainless relatively too …

    Buyer Beware is the maxim isn’t it .. See you at the A-Z though .. cheers Hilary

  8. These “experts” are all over the web–probably all over the world, too, but it’s so much harder to, uh, keep that veneer of “expertness” in person than it is cybernetically ;) Yeah, word-of-mouth works for me. PLEASE also does, at least as an introduction. A nice non-spammy website helps. What does NOT help, not even a little bit, is solicitation. Seems like common sense, but then again, that’s the least common of all the senses ;)

    Thanks for the chuckle ;)
    Guilie @ Quiet Laughter

  9. Everyone’s an expert these days. ;) Absolutes should only exist for beginners to help them navigate the sea of social media.

I welcome your thoughts.

