Thank you, Pete Seeger

th

Thank you for daring to be different, Pete Seeger.

Ninety-four years of a wonderful, significant life. And today we say goodbye.

One of the greatest pieces of advice Mr. Seeger offered a friend, and by extension all of us:

“Look ’em in the eye. Make a gesture of inclusion. And above all, have a chorus.”  Which he always did, and made sure people sang along.

Pete Seeger talked the talk and walked the walk. Stood by ideals he believed in as an activist and prominent folk musician. Was he rare among his ilk? Maybe, although his were different times.

Thank you, Mr. Seeger.

To Everything (Turn, Turn, Turn)
There is a season (Turn, Turn, Turn)
And a time to every purpose, under Heaven 

A time to be born, a time to die
A time to plant, a time to reap
A time to kill, a time to heal
A time to laugh, a time to weep

——–

Photo courtesy:  http://www.cbc.com

11 responses to “Thank you, Pete Seeger

  1. Great tribute. He will be missed.
    Also, so glad to have you aboard the Challenge!!!!! Welcome.
    Tina @ Life is Good
    A to Z Team @ Blogging From A to Z April Challenge 2014
    @TinaLifeisGood, #atozchallenge

  2. I didn’t know he had died Sylvia, so thank you for letting me know. Tomorrow I’ll find some of his music on my computer and listen especially to that song. I remember him … he will be well remembered. ‘Inclusion’ – so powerful.
    Thank you for your tribute –

  3. We sang Turn Turn Turn at our 8th grade graduation. He had a big impact on society.

  4. Oh, how I loved his music. It was such a part of my early college years. Another legend leaves the stage. Susan Kane

  5. The first time I saw Pete Seeger was at a concert at Yale when I was an undergraduate and dating an Eli. He performed with Joan Baez, Judy Collins and Peter, Paul and Mary. How good could it get! His was a life well lived, and he never wavered from his commitment to the environment. I think he and Woody Guthrie are making music together tonight.

  6. On our way home from Pittsburgh, yesterday, we listened to an interview with Pete Seeger. I didn’t know that “If I had a Hammer” was considered questionable, a rebel song. I just liked singing it. He was brilliant, and I loved how he stayed true to be inclusive and standing up for himself and all people.

I welcome your thoughts.

