Why I Love Christmas

Why do I love Christmas so much?

Christmas is about decorating, cooking, but most importantly, Christmas is about family.

Christmas is all about continuing long-standing traditions and strengthening the family unit. A time that is synonymous with family.

That is what I love about Christmas. 

Keith&Sara

Fam

Keith & Anthony

As I sorted through our photos this morning, I found two quotes expressing the sentiment.  

The best of all gifts around any Christmas tree: the presence of a happy family all wrapped up in each other.
– Burton Hillis

Christmas is the day that holds all time together.
– Alexander Smith

 Hope you had a great Christmas, full of love, laughter, and joy. 

10 responses to “Why I Love Christmas

  1. I love Christmas, too, for all the reasons you mentioned. I know a lot of people don’t like the holidays, but I think the key to enjoying them is embracing the good parts–family, friends, music, food, decorating–and avoiding the commercialization. I do that by recording TV shows and fast forwarding over commercials, it’s amazing how that alone gives you a different perspective on Christmas! Also, not feeling stressed that I *have* to get someone a present. Rather, I have fun picking out something I know they’ll like and enjoying their reaction when they open the gift.

  2. Oh, yes. I do agree that the family is the core for Christmas too. Which is why I had to refocus a little and put the focus more on the Christ child. When your child can’t be there for the day it changes things. Or at least it did for me.

  3. I,tot, love Christmas for all those reasons. We have had some very severe weather this season and many of our family and friends were without power. It has provided an opportunity to experience the true meaning of Christmas…. sharing ( heat, showers, hot food) caring ( for friends, neighbors and family) and gratitude.( those of us who did not lose power)
    Love your pics and glad you had a cozy Christmas. Happy New year 2014!!

  4. Hi Silvia – great remembrance photos .. and yes I agree – family all around .. Merry christmas to you .. cheers Hilary

  5. Wonderful post, Sylvia. This year was special since we had my daughter, her fiance and his parents with us, and crammed in 13 people for Christmas dinner. Raucous but lots of fun.
    As my name implies, this season is always special to me. The month of December is devoted to cards, cooking, wrapping and decorating, which is exhausting but wonderful. I still can’t figure out how I did it when the kids were small.
    Happy New Year to you and yours!

  6. How lovely, Silvia. I tend to be more of a Christmas Grinch, but I guess that happens when family is not a big player in the season. It’s been years–decades–since I spent a Christmas at home, or even with family, so it’s become more of a social affair for me: friends, parties, chilling out–especially when I was in the corporate rat race. Sentiments like yours remind me there’s more to it, and although it’s somewhat painful, it’s also important to avoid forgetting. Happy new year!

  7. You describe the feeling perfectly.

I welcome your thoughts.

