Run from It

File:Dark Clouds at Bheemunipatnam.jpg

Don’t take too long to run.

It took a moment before I knew I waited too long.

So what, I thought, I’ll get a little wet. It’s only water.

Two drops fell from the sky, stinging my arms. More followed … and more. It was a shock beyond plain wetness; brutally cold raindrops hitting like shells.

I should have hurried earlier. I should have run back home.

The wind ripped through, bending the top of the trees. How could a weather front bring such cold air in the middle of summer?

How could life go from bright and light to dark so fast?

But it did.

Now, the sun dipped below the horizon and the dark clouds rolled in quickly, casting strange shadows across the landscape. It was upon us, flinging itself at the world, moaning, as if trying to talk, to curse … or maybe cry.  A giant of a storm.

~~~ Visit Today’s Author and Write Now for prompts and more.

——–

Image courtesy: Wikimedia Commons – public use

 

9 responses to “Run from It

  1. Lovely Sylvia thank you! Summer is upon us and the highveld storms will soon be arriving – before one knows it the skies turn black and the rain, thunder and lightning make themselves known! I love yr description of yr storms.

  2. I remember this happening to me many times, southern storms have their way of sneaking up on you. Beautifully written, so very vivid.

  3. Love your writing…. could feel the cold wet rain!

  4. Um…too close to home ;-)
    With love from soggy, flooded Colorado,
    Tina @ Life is Good

  5. Ah, so vivid, could totally feel it.

I welcome your thoughts.

