Death in a Red Canvas Chair

51nzBYMLvRL._SY346_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_

I met Noelle Granger this past April during the A to Z Blogging Challenge. We became instant friends, and took to email to discuss our reading and writing.

Soon, I learned that like me, Noelle writes mysteries. Naturally, I had to read her novel.

First, a little bit about the author.

Noelle Granger is a Professor Emerita at UNC Chapel Hill School of Medicine. After forty years of research, teaching anatomy to undergraduates, medical students and residents, she turned her knowledge of clinical anatomy to mystery writing.

Impressive, but you won’t hear Noelle talk about her achievements. I had no idea until I read the back cover.

Many times, I question the science behind a crime scene. In this book, we have a professor of clinical anatomy writing not only the mystery, but the medical aspects necessary in such a story.  

Here is my review:

Death in a Red Canvas Chair

A peaceful afternoon in small-town Maine turns chaotic when Rhe Brewster, ER nurse, finds a body sitting in a chair at the end of the soccer field. A take-charge personality, Rhe uses her connections in the police department and the morgue for answers.

From the start, the author’s deep knowledge of medicine and science is on display. The medical aspects are described with expertise and in fascinating detail. Facts establish credibility. While this is fiction, the authority used, which is often blurred in such complex world, drew me in.

The author takes us through the ups and downs of family life, a demanding job, lives of wild students, even decisions based on religious beliefs. As an avid mystery reader, I pride myself on being able to figure out the clues early on. Here, the killer is shrouded in mystery. The pieces come together, but not until everything makes sense. Not until the end.

I was entertained and engrossed in the story. The lead character is endearing and convincing. I found it an enjoyable read, and I highly recommend it. Then again I’m a sucker for a good mystery.

5 responses to “Death in a Red Canvas Chair

  1. Nice review and the topic of the book looks interesting…Would love to read this..

  2. I will be bookmarking this and then adding the book to my Goodreads. I am always looking for new books to read and I have been searching for a mystery.

  3. Sounds like a good read, especially with the author’s expertise.

  4. The first comment I posted said ‘sorry this comment could not be posted’ – wordpress error, so I’ll try again and sorry if it gets duplicated.
    I love murder mysteries and always try to determine who the culprit is. This looks like a good one and I check it out – hope it’s on Kindle. I also appreciate it when the author knows her stuff … makes for authenticity.
    Thanks for this review Sylvia!

I welcome your thoughts.

