In High Heels

“Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world.” ~ Marilyn Monroe.

Knowing how glamorous Marilyn was, it’s safe to assume she was talking about something like this:

 

But for me, the right shoes means something much closer to this:

 

My work attire is business casual, weekend outfit jeans, shirt, and flops — weather considering. As I dash from soccer practice to basketball game to birthday parties to God-knows-what-other activity, I’m a casual dress code kind of gal.  Can’t remember last time I wore a suit or anything close to such a fancy ensemble. Dresses yes, I like easy summer dresses, but many require ironing. So, I’m happy with jeans.

There was a time I used to spend hours trying on clothes, putting on makeup (heavy makeup) before walking out the door. Now, I’m all about comfort.

Yet, this weekend I’m going to wear something similar to this (if I can manage to walk out the door without twisting my ankle). Will have comfortable shoes in the car, just in case.

Why, you ask?  I’m going to a musical/art/fundraising event scheduled to take place at a venue in the Los Angeles Art District. And I’m told that’s where people go all dressed up.  While I’m not one for appearances, we meet friends there — people who like to look very nice. So, okay, I’ll try. Let’s see how long I last before running (barefoot) for my comfortable shoes.

What do you all think about high heels — the feel, the look, the madness?

 

14 responses to “In High Heels

  1. Ohhh, the shoes are sooo pretty, but so deadly! I went shoe-shopping with my daughter and two gr-daughters. We all oohed-ahhhed at the fancy shoes, but we bought the comfy sandals. Good luck on your fancy dress-up. Maybe that is why women hold onto the arms of a man when walking in those shoes? Susan Kane

    On Fri, Jun 14, 2013 at 3:46 PM, Silvia Writes

  2. I love the look of them, and the look of others wearing them…but after multiple (as in more than ten..) ankle sprains, an ankle break, and bone spur/cartilage repair/nerve repair surgery (all on the same stupid ankle) I am relegated to “comfortable shoes.” Chakos in the summer, Danskos in the winter. So sad, because I used to be a shoe…lady of the evening…

    Tina @ Life is Good

  3. Ah, a woman after my own heart. It’s amazing what effect motherhood, and eventually grandmotherhood, can have on the sensibility and comfort of our footwear. I still have some sexy little high heels (very low high heels!) for special occasions, but they’re used so seldom they look brand new.

  4. I have never worn them, way too tall at just over 5’9″. And now that I’m over 50 there would be no way my poor legs,feet or back could stand the pressure of having to stand on more than and inch or two tops. I do love however the sleek look of a lovely heal matched with a tasteful dress.

    Jen @ We’re Living A Full Life

  5. I could never wear really high heels because at 5’10” I towered over everyone. But even the modest heels have given way to slides and cross trainers. I’m with you! Spare the feet! I hate to think what the feet of young women who wear those platform shoes with 5″ heels are going to look like in 10 or 15 years. The problem is, shoes are designed by men to enhance the way women’s legs look and women buy into it (to the tune of millions of dollars). If anything, I’m in revolt – I like a good pair of Brooks or Munros. Great topic, Sylvia! And I’ll bet you’ll look smashing at the Fundraiser!

  6. I have one pair of ultra high shoes which I have been wearing more. I got a couple of slacks which needed the height until they get hemmed. I enjoy wearing them, only wish they were more comfortable. :)

  7. francenestanley

    It’s been years since I wore high heels. My age allows me to get away with it these days. But I love the look of them on other people. Enjoy your youth while you can.

  8. At Five Foot, I lived in high heels and loved them AND THEN I became a MOM, no way was I chasing my kids in heels and even as they grew I still wore more comfortable shoes. I still wore my heels to Church on Sundays and when we went out to dinner,shows,etc.. Now, I was lucky, my husband was always with me, so he did the chasing when I was in heels. Anyway, I love heels but to be honest, my daily life I choose to wear what I call,comfy shoes, and in my humble opinion I don’t think those are heels :)

  9. Well, they’re ridiculous, but sexy. We can’t resist, until our feet are screaming, then off they go. Most of the time, I’m wearing low heels. You can find cute shoes that don’t hurt.

  10. I’m not a heel wearer unless it’s a really dressy event. The only heels I own are John Fleuvog. They’re almost comfortable. ;)

I welcome your thoughts.

