A to Z Reflection post

It’s hard to believe April is over, and my first A to Z Blogging Challenge has come to an end. Twenty-six days of blogging. Wow. Those days were incredible, at times tiring, at times chaotic, but they were always fun.  

As a first time participant (and someone new to blogging), I didn’t know what to expect. But after reading the first emails — from Tina, Shannon, and many more — it became clear the Challenge was going to provide exactly the gentle kick I needed as a new blogger. Write, edit, then write some more.

Although I drafted my posts in advance, I edited before scheduling every article. So, first lesson learned: it’s possible to write/blog every day when surrounded by like-minded folks. Now can we extend the Challenge through May, please? … Ha ha.

Here are a few likes and an observation:

1.   I met interesting people from all over the world (think I communicated with bloggers from 10-15 countries — how cool is that!);

2.   I connected with writing friends  — nicely added element of familiarity.

3. I discovered some amazing blogs. There are too many to name here, but you’re in my Reader and/or Subscription list.

I have to say, though, that I learned so much about Iraq from Ghadeer at Spill beans, about Brazil from Maggie at Expatbrazil, and about India from Phil at Philips com.  

These are just from a quick recollection, but I came across many more wonderful blogs.

4.   I gained followers (not sure as to the exact number, but more than I expected.) If I haven’t followed you back yet, it is my mission to go through my Followed and Subscribed list over the next few days and do just that.

5   I forgot all about W, but writing a post in a short amount of time was surprisingly easy at that point.

6.   The only observation or dislike (for lack of a better word) was in the difficulty to comment on certain blogs. Finding the A to Z entries proved time-consuming (posts were not immediately visible, sometimes buried deep someplace). Searching cut into my time, and you know the saying: time is golden.

But all in all, the Challenge was a blast. I am happy I signed up for it and plan to return in 2014.

A great, big thanks to the A-Z team. You’ve done a SUPERB job organizing, hosting, and keeping us motivated. You made it look easy, but that’s probably far from the truth. Thank you to an amazing group of people.

I hope to see you all around post Challenge. And … we did it!!!

34 responses to “A to Z Reflection post

  1. Congrats on finishing! It was my first year too, and I was so glad to be able to participate. It was just what I needed. :) It was good to meet you through the process.

  2. I’m glad you got so much out of it! Thanks for the shout-out, too. Please join us for the Road Trip – since you wanted us to keep it going through May – announcement on the A-Z Blog on 5/8. Be there!
    Tina @ Life is Good
    Co-host, April 2013 A-Z Challenge Blog
    @TinaLifeisGood, #atozchallenge

  3. Thank you so much for the mention :D
    I’m very happy to meet great bloggers such as you through this Challenge.

  4. It was fun. I’m glad I got to “meet” so many fun bloggers (like you!) through this challenge!

  5. Yes, the trying to find out how to comment on a blog was a pain!

  6. You did a great job!

  7. I admire your diligence. I hope to join you next year. :-)

  8. Yahoo! You did it! Maybe II’ll get up the courage to do it next year.

  9. Great reflections and good insight on the comments. I like the comment in the footer not the header, and the archives visible so I can find the post. Otherwise, I am inclined to dash off to another one!

    Congrats on finishing the challenge. Hopefully I will see you again next year!
    tm

  10. Oh thanks very much for your lovely comment, how sweet of you. So glad you enjoyed them:)
    See you soon.

  11. I so agree with all your points :)

  12. Congrats on making through your first AtoZ!

  13. Congrats on making it to the finish line.

    Rinelle Grey

  14. Your post was a wonderful find – you know I will be following it! So thanks to the A-Z Challenge.

  15. Hi Silvia .. well done and am so pleased you enjoyed yourself – I’ve always enjoyed the challenge .. this year was easier as I was writing on an easier subject!!

    Interestingly Ghadeer and Philips – both blogs I struggled to comment on – but loved their input about their countries, and Maggie’s Brazil was lovely to see ..

    The meeting of the minds from around the world is fun isn’t it .. and I’ll catch you around as the year progresses … cheers Hilary

  16. You thoughts and sentiments echo mine. It was exciting to learn about places and people. Susan Kane @thecontemplativecat

    On Fri, May 3, 2013 at 7:15 AM, Silvia Writes

  17. Congrats, Sylvia, on completing your first challenge and being ready to do it again. I didn’t start blogging until around “X” so missed a lot of the fun. I would like to give it a go next year, so guess I had better start thinking about posts particularly for the more unusual letters!

  18. Heartiest congratulations on completing the challenge. I have enjoyed reading your posts. Hope to see more of your work going further. Happy blogging.

    Your fellow A to Zer
    Visit my reflections post at http://precari0us.wordpress.com/

  19. This is my 3rd year, and I’ve enjoyed the challenge more each time. I’m glad you had a good first experience.

  20. This was also my first year doing this challenge, first year blogging as well. I enjoyed the experience. Great wrap up post.

  21. I’m so glad you enjoyed the challenge and made it through to Z!

  22. This was my second year doing the challenge, though due to school commitments, I wasn’t able to get around to as many blogs as I did last year.

    I also encountered some of those difficulties on commenting on posts. Why would you make it so that someone needs to register on your specific network, like Google Plus, just to leave a comment?

  23. Also enjoyed the international connection. Have heard others complain about not being to comment. Seems those folks lost out on some new members. Good summary !

  24. Congrats on completing the marathon! I’m glad to have met you and will continue to read your blog.
    Play off the Page

  25. I really enjoyed your visits and your blog. And lovely to see you visiting again. I’m honoured.
    Jemima at Jemima’s blog

I welcome your thoughts.

