Z is for Zuma Beach

There are beautiful beaches all over the world, but how about living not far from a place like Zuma? Paradise, I’d say.

Zuma Beach is in Malibu, and Malibu is a place of beauty in and of itself. If you think  I’m exaggerating, here’s the reason I’m not even kidding.

Malibu is plagued by landslides and fires more than any place in California — complete destruction of multimillion dollars mansions due to the geologically unstable terrain — and people just don’t go away. They rebuild and stay put. That’s how beautiful it is. Kind of crazy, you might say, but who said humans are sane?

Now, like with all beach communities, there’s overcrowding. Not a place I’d like to drive to every evening after work, fight traffic on PCH and whatnot, but to visit and spend time on a perfectly clear and sunny So Cal day, that’s a whole different story.

As locals, and with so many beaches around, we don’t visit nearly enough, but it’s most definitely on the list of places to see in L.A.

Yeah, it’s awfully L.A. — usual to spot celebrities and flashy cars in the parking lot, and it’s very California with surfers everywhere. But it is also beautiful, and during the week the beach is quiet and most enjoyable.

And since ideas and energy are in short supply here at the end of the A to Z Challenge, I leave you with some fun facts about Zuma Beach and a closing comment.

Zuma was a site for the television series Baywatch, I Dream of Jeannie, and the famous final scene of Planet of the Apes (among many other shows and films).   

It is mentioned in the song “Some Girls,” by the Rolling Stones, and “Why I Came to California” by Leon Ware.

Singers Gwen Stefani and Gavin Rossdale named their second son Zuma, after the famous beach. 

And that’s it, friends. I’ve really enjoyed being part of the Challenge. If I neglected returning a comment, please know it is only due to the large number of posts, and would like a chance to visit your blog and comment soon.

I am also on Facebook, if you’d like to connect: http://www.facebook.com/silviavillalobos.140 (if that doesn’t work, my email svillalobos.ro@gmail.com is another way to connect on Facebook).   Now on to the Reflection post.

Thank you for teaching me so much about blogging.  I hope to see you around.

Best regards.

_______

Photos credit: Zuma Beach County Park, from Wikimedia; Zuma Beach, from latimes.

30 responses to “Z is for Zuma Beach

  1. I live right by a beach, and so glad. But this beach definitely looks exceptional. I’d love to visit California

  2. Such a beautiful place it seems to be.. Wonderful post.

    – Your fellow A to Zer
    Visit my post at http://precari0us.wordpress.com/

  3. oh wow, I wish I was there right now ;( we made it!!!

  4. Nice Z! Congrats on finishing the A-Z challenge! High five!

  5. We’re done! High fives all around. I visited Zuma once when we were living in So Cal – any beach for me is a wonderful place, but Zuma was especially nice. Now you need to visit NC’s Crystal Coast, Sylvia. Looking forward to more of your posts, non A-Z!

  6. Thanks for the memories, Silvia! On our 2nd honeymoon, we did the
    PCH visiting places where my husband grew up. We walked hand in hand on Zuma on a weekday morning all alone and dined on crab at Malibu for lunch. Then on to SF, for a romantic dinner on the wharf at Aliotto’s. When we finally hit LA and made a left for home, I commented on how light the traffic was, that I’d driven in worse in Houston and Denver. Tom said, “Honey, you do know this is Sunday, don’t you?” Yikes!

    • Glad the post brought back pleasant memories, Karen. Zuma is a special place. And Tom was so right about Sunday traffic. No light traffic in L.A. any other day. Thank you for popping in here. Love reading your comments.

  7. Gorgeous photos. I wish I lived near a beach, even a cold English one would do.

  8. It is beautiful, Silvia. We have some nice beaches here on the central coast, but the water’s not as warm as So Cal beaches :-) Congrats on finishing your A-Z challenge!!

    • Yeah, water is very comfortable during the summer … and calm.
      Thanks, Linda. Appreciate you coming in here and commenting. We have one more in the next few days — a Reflection post — and I go back to blogging at a slower pace. Feels nice to to have completed the Challenge.

  9. Beautiful pictures of the beach and water! I was just listening to something about the landslides and the unstable terrian on the news last night in California. Wow makes you wonder about its future.

    I hope to come back and visit your blog and read more of your post now that the challenge is over! So many blogs to get back to but I will come back.

  10. I begged my parents to take us on a family vacation to Malibu as a young teen, but they accused me of just wanting to see my celebrity crush, Mark Hamill, who lives there, and I never got to go. Maybe I will one day as an adult.

  11. internetreviewofbooks

    Hi Silvia, congrats on completing the A-Z Challenge! It was not many years ago that I visited California for the first time. We’ve seen Malibu and much of the SoCal coast just once. Hope to do it again soon.

  12. Planet of the Apes! Yeah, that’s cool.

  13. It has certainly been a pleasure, Sylvia. Congrats on finishing the challenge! I do hope to see you and your writing around. By the way, I love the ocean!

  14. Malibu is the stuff of legend for us. We have driven up the Coast Hwy, seen the signs, but never pulled over. The photos show it is truly beautiful.

    I have so enjoyed your posts! Looking forward to seeing them after the reflections.

  15. Oh to tour California, one day soon. Interesting about the shows filmed there. Lucky you living nearby:)
    #atozchallenge
    maggie at expat brazil

  16. What a curious thing to do, name your child after a beach. I guess it’s not so strange, really. People name their children after countries and cities and towns (and fruit, in Gwynneth Paltrow’s case). And Zuma has a lovely energy to it.

    Congratulaltions on making it through to the end of the challenge!

  17. It looks like a beautiful beach Silvia. I am so very partial to beaches actually. All my vacations are on the water. I was in California once 35 years ago and went to a few beaches but i cannot recall what they were called. The only thing I really remember is an amazing bridge was it called Coronado?.

    Anyway I’m happy with the fact that I found your blog and will love coming back to visit after a brief rest! Well done on all your lovely posts and congrats on finishing.

    Jen@ http://werelivingafulllife.blogspot.com

  18. Beautiful photos, Silvia. I guess it does have to be beautiful to put up with the traffic and mean streaks of mother nature!

  19. Zuma beach sounds lovely. I’m not much of a sun lover (I don’t tan at all – I went to Florida once and everyone else came back brown I came back slightly less white and freckly :)), but I do enjoy walking on beaches. I also love making sandcastles – my friends and I once made a 100th scale sandcastle replica of the Great Pyramid of Giza on a Belgian beach (that’s what you get when a bunch of physicists and engineers go on a long weekend ;)).

    Tasha’s Thinkings

  20. Hi Silvia .. Zuma Beach does look great and I remember some of the beach scenes .. I can imagine it’d be packed at weekends – but a gentle walk around during the week sounds great.

    Congratulations on finishing the A-Z and I’ll be seeing you around … cheers Hilary

  21. I would love to check out Zuma Beach and how cool, I had no idea about those shows. I love “I Dream of Jeannie”. I had so much fun doing A-Z and met some fun new bloggers,like you :)

  22. And it is lovely indeed! And I’m going to stay around! I nominated you on my blog for the Liebster Blog Award http://frannychallenge.wordpress.com/2013/05/02/liebster-blog-award/

I welcome your thoughts.

