F is for Fruits of Summer

I love fruit of just about any kind, but I especially love summer fruit.

When it’s hot — and the heat is intense where I live — there’s nothing better than a platter of assorted, succulent fruit — the juice dripping off my chin and fingers as I eat.  

I’m pretty sure I can go days without real meals, and do it happily, so long as I have air conditioning, cold water, and for nourishment a bunch of berries, kiwi, melon and apples.

Experts say natural sugar from fruit is good for you. And who am I to disagree? Fruit contributes fiber and nutrients to the body and in summertime the fruit is local, so we support our farmers.

And watermelon … umm good … it keeps you cool in the middle the heat. Probably more than any other fruit. 

Is there anything better than a delicious piece of watermelon when it’s 110 degrees outside and the air conditioning can barely keep up? And by the way, I don’t count fruit calories (and dark chocolate —  shhh … please don’t tell), toward the daily caloric intake value. Plus, there’s no fat in most fruits, right?

And strawberries, I love them. I read strawberry is the fruit of love. They have the heart-shaped form, sweetness, and vivid red color.  A fruit used to seduce.

People are said to be allured by the scent of strawberry-scented perfume and/or cologne and a piece of the fruit on a platter. Maybe next to a glass of champagne.   And a piece of dark chocolate? Oh, wait, chocolate is my little addiction. Strawberries fruit of love

That aside, I try to eat a lot of  strawberries when the fruit is in season. They are rich in Vitamin C, and Vitamin C is proven to keep the heart healthy and the body’s immune system strong. Strawberries are also rich in folic acid, potassium and fiber. Perfect for good health.

Look at that — not only fresh and sweet taste but also good for me. If only my family would stop asking me to cook dinner.

So, whether a girl is in love or just looking for a healthy diet, strawberries are definitely in order.

As the saying goes: Let’s eat and be merry!

Have a great Sunday off everyone. See you again on Monday when G is for Garage Rock.

27 responses to “F is for Fruits of Summer

  1. Dark Chocolate and Giant ripe strawberries…. there is no substitute!:) Glad I did the shopping this week! :-D

    Erick @ A Brief Sinfonia: Loving You’re Wife From A-Z

  2. Hello! I love fruit, too. My favorite fruit is clementines! I also look forward to watermelon in the summer. But really, I love ALL fruit. Fruit salad is the best!

    Happy A to Z-ing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

  3. At the moment here, in the UK, Summer seems a long way off – but I do look forward to picking fresh strawberries! Mmmmmm! WIth cream drizzled over – closing my eyes I’m transported back to my childhood home where we grew strawberries, raspberries, gooseberries, rhubarb and black currants! Oh, the simple pleasure of fruit still warm from the sunshine!

    Thanks for callin by my blog earlier – I hope you are enjoying the A-Z hop!

    SueH I refuse to go quietly!

    Twitter – @Librarymaid

  4. Yum, your pictures look so tasty! I can’t wait for some good fresh fruit.

  5. MMM. Let’s eat and be merry with yummy yummy berries! My favorite fruits are berries. I have a whole garden of just strawberries, raspberries, and blackberries. I cannot wait for them to start producing again.

  6. Ooh Silvia, that fruit looks good. We are big berry eaters in my house too. I made a berry granola dessert for Easter and the kids are begging me to make more. Champagne, chocolate, and strawberries – sounds like a great meal to me! God bless, Maria at Delight Directed Living

  7. I think that I could eat an entire watermelon myself. I don’t need anything else. Just watermelon. I love fresh fruit & veggies.

    Jaime at Awakenings and Reflections

  8. Dark chocolate, strawberries and watermelon….that constitutes heaven! Yummy post. :)

  9. Mmm I love summer fruits, especially strawberries! Delish.

  10. It’s also intensely hot here in the Philippines where I live and watermelons are always a refreshing treat! Strawberries don’t grow where I live because of the heat, but I love strawberries as well. We get them from the highlands, although they’re not in season during the hot summer days. A very refreshing post, indeed.

    Thanks for visiting my site. Happy blogging!

  11. I agree summer fruits are wonderful. An added benefit for us is we grow melons, watermelon and cantaloupe during the summer…there’s nothing better than ones you’ve grown yourself.
    http://werelivingafulllife.blogspot.com

  12. You are right! Summer Fruit is the best! Watermelon, white peaches YUM!!
    Connie
    A to Z buddy
    Peanut Butter and Whine

  13. I find watermelon to be most thirst-quenching and perfect on a hot day!
    Happy A to Z!

  14. Mmmm, I love fruit too. It’s so sad when winter rolls around and it’s harder to find the good stuff.

    Have fun with a-z.

  15. Mmmmm- strawberries. Right there with ya!

I welcome your thoughts.

