D is for Daffodil Fields

The flower that trumpets spring.

File:DallasArboretum-6049.jpg

We don’t have harsh enough winters in Southern California to warrant sheer happiness at the sight of flowers in bloom. But spring is a time for fresh starts and color. And nothing announces spring like the daffodil.

How delightful is it to walk around, or sit on the front-porch glider, and look at all that color?

The flower has an interesting history. It signifies respect and admiration. In ancient Egypt, the skins from the daffodil bulb were placed on the eyes and mouth of mummies. 

It also goes by the name Lent lily, because it blooms around lent time, and narcissi.

In Greek mythology “Narcissus” was the young man who fell so in love with his own reflection that he rejected the nymph Echo and was punished by the gods (thus “narcissistic”).

As the story goes, he leaned to kiss his own reflection and fell in the water, never to resurface, and the daffodil sprang up on the water’s edge where he had been kneeling.

Where I live, it gets very hot in the summer and windy in the winter. Bad conditions for the flower, yet when my mother visited, she insisted on planting daffodils in my backyard with the caveat, “they’ll be fine if you take care of them.” I water them often, after checking the soil (as per Mom’s instructions). And they are fine and beautiful.

Color brings joy to life, doesn’t it? Californians travel in droves to the Nevada, Utah, and Arizona deserts to see wildflowers bloom. Of course, the desert flowers are unique. You see a lot of purple, blue, pink, and orange combinations.

At home, we have McLaughlin’s Hill in Volcano, California — four acres devoted to the annual planting of daffodils.

The owners do not advertise the farm as a business. It is a quiet destination for those who want to enjoy the sight of flowers in bloom during spring break. 

Visitors purchase food, beverages and souvenirs, as the proceeds benefit non-profit groups. A great venture all around — money for charities and a hillside filled with brilliant yellow. How is that for color loving folks?

Photo credits: Yellow and red daffodil by Loadmaster (David R. Tribble), from Wikimedia Commons; McLaughlin’s Daffodil Hill in Volcano, California, by arlenevpoma hubpages.

22 responses to “D is for Daffodil Fields

  1. Being from the UK, I’m surrounded by late daffodils (or daffies as they’re often called here) which have been reluctant to appear this year because of the super-long and severe winter. Even as I type this, it’s snowing here. So as you can imagine, right now Southern California sounds like heaven. You paint a great picture of it.

  2. I love daffodils. When I lived in Europe, there were so many of them growing randomly, just showing their faces to the sun. Now that I live in Arizona, I have settled for the brief splendor of our wildflowers growing in the spring. Thank you for your visit. I am enjoying the A-Z blogs.

  3. Ah! Daffodils are my FAVORITE flower!!! :) And their fragrance is wonderful!

  4. Lynette, fresh snow is so beautiful (the white-on, as we say). Sunny days are soon coming. Or spring first, and with it the daffies.

    Marti, Arizona wildflowers … oh, what a sight. Thanks so much for visiting.

    Margo, you’re so right about the fragrance … Nice to see you here.

  5. I love the picture with the daffodils and tulips! Our daffodils are blooming at home in Oregon along with the hyacinths! Tulips will come next month most likely.

  6. I live in Arizona….the wildflowers bloom for about a half an hour, and then it’s ON!!

    LC

  7. Yes, you’re right, the daffodils are beautiful and your words much more pretty pictures.

  8. I love the history. Especially about Narcissus. Cool pictures. I’m in northeast Georgia and it’s still so cold today I can see my breath! Hurry up, spring!
    Happy A to Z to you!

  9. No daffodils in bloom here yet..they only show a bit of their leaves now…I guess we have to wait for better and warmer weather….

    Marcie @ Marcie’s Postbox

  10. Kathy, spring is a gorgeous time of year, isn’t it?

    Disco, the Arizona desert .. oh, it’s pretty in springtime.

    David, thank you. Hope springs hurries up for you. C’mon now, spring.

    Marcie, just a couple more weeks … and … voila… color. :)

  11. Yeah, now would be the time to go out and look at wildflowers. Thanks for the idea.

  12. Like Lynette the Manic Scribbler I live in England and it snowed on me today too. I love the early trumpet-flowered daffodils for their long-awaited splash of colour but we also planted some late flowering ones that have the most incredible scent and I think these are my favourites.

  13. Leovi, thank you very much!

    Liz, hope you enjoy the color out there.

    Lynne, beautiful garden you’re going to have soon. Just the place to pull a chair and sit with a good book.

  14. Believe me, here in CT when my first flowers bloom each spring sheer happiness doesn’t even come close to covering it!

  15. I love daffodils, they are such a simple yet lovely flower. Here in virginia they will sprout out of the ground as early as February and bloom soon after that, I’m not a native here but many of the native Virginians call
    them jonquils.(i had never heard that before) I have tons and tons in my garden because the moles don’t favor eating them like tulips and other bulbs.
    visiting from A-Z and my blogger blog http://werelivingafulllife.blogspot.com

  16. I hear you, Cindy. Anytime you want to fly out here, I have a room ready for you.

    Jen, you wrote so beautifully about the lovely daffodils. I’ve never heard the name jonquils either. You too have a beautiful garden. Thanks for the info, now I know all about jonquils.

  17. What a gorgeous vista for visitors to enjoy.

    I always appreciate origins of things. Thank you for sharing.

  18. I had the good fortune to live in the south of France for a couple of years. We lived in the upstairs apartment of a duplex with a little balcony overlooking…a flower field. The first crop every spring was daffodils. I’ll never forget the sight.

  19. Robin, always good to know I’m doing this right. Thanks so much for visiting.

    Patricia, south of France … I can just imagine … happy you shared your memory with me.

  20. That sounds so lovely! Unfortunately I am allergic to daffodils, so it wouldn’t end up being so nice in the end. But I do like to look at pictures of them!

    Happy A-Z’ing! You’re almost done with the first week!

    AJ Lauer
    #atozchallenge helper minion
    Twitter: @ayjaylauer

  21. Carolyn Paul Branch

    I love daffodils, they are one of my most photographed flowers. Here’s a shot from last Spring: http://www.flickr.com/photos/carolynbranch/2806186849/in/set-72157607015845254

  22. The best place to see flowers near me is Longwood Gardens. (www.longwoodgardens.org/) I’ve been there in the spring, summer and fall and each season had some trully amazing views to share.

I welcome your thoughts.

