C is for Coaching

Ever coach a sport team, or observe a coach in action?

We watch sideline coaching on TV, but step into a gym (as I do every Thursday for my son’s basketball practice) and you’ll get a new appreciation for the volunteer coaches.

scan0020

Alas, Coach B is the best if you ask the kids.

Before the start of the season, with no gym available for practice, Coach B invited nine families to his house. It helped that he had a custom-made basketball court.

From day one, he made it a point to teach not only technique, but also discipline.

I love that about coaches and teachers. Not because I’m looking for them to discipline my kid, but all  great coaches and educators earn respect by proving themselves as leaders from day one. Right?

The kids are not allowed onto the court without their shirts tucked in, or late, and they had better follow instructions, or they sit out part of the game and run around the court several times.

He rewards them with enthusiastic clapping while jumping out of his seat for each basket or great play. He doesn’t just teach, he helps his students find their strength. 

And there’s a lot of patience involved.  Tricky to get a bunch of eight-year-old boys to listen, remember the strategy and follow instructions during the game. The coach does it with confidence.

Sure, they lose some games, but they gain poise, discipline and skill.

494px-All_sports_drawing.svg From a parent’s perspective, being part of a team with a coach who claps after every play, walks the sidelines to shout nuggets of strategy, or doles out high fives while insisting they can do anything they set their mind to, is a  success story.      

Whoever said volunteers are like gems nailed it.   Here’s to every teacher, coach, and volunteer in the world. May your hard work be recognized and rewarded!

Photo credit: Drawing representing a number of sports icons — photo by Angelo.romano, from Wikimedia Commons.

20 responses to “C is for Coaching

  1. I really enjoy your blog. I’m looking forward to reading a lot more articles from you in the future. You venture into a variety of topics, and that keeps it interesting. Thanks for the read.

  2. Very nice! Coaches are the best because not only do they teach skill, they hopefully teach kids how to lose gracefully, work hard for something and have fun doing it. :) Great post.

  3. Deb, thank you so much. I figure a variety of topics will keep things interesting. Can’t wait to have you back.

    Ocdreader, glad you enjoyed it. Coaches (especially volunteers) are awesome folks.

  4. Coach B sounds like an awesome guy. I’ve never coached a team, but I can imagine it is not an easy job.

  5. Toni McKilligan

    It’s wonderful when kids find a mentor like Coach B. The world needs more like him.

  6. Coach B sounds like a wonderful teacher for the children blessed to have him. As recent events show us, not all coaches have the best interest of their charges in mind when doing their job.

  7. My father coached me when I was younger. When I got older I had other coaches who were more into what the glory was for them and not the kids. It was no longer about teaching children to be who they are, work with a team, so respect and leadership. It was about them. I did end up with another great coach when I focused just on download skilling,.. even though he made me walk up the hill instead of taking the chairlift if I id not do what he needed me too… LOL THANKS for stopping by! Kriss @ Cabin Goddess

  8. I had a football coach growing up. Looking back we were all a bit of a nightmare to manage, but his enthusiasm dragged us through. Thinking back I enjoyed the games so all in all a positive experience. :)

  9. Julie, yes, Coach B rocks. Thanks for stopping by.

    Toni, indeed, we don’t have enough people like him. Appreciate your comment.

    Cabin, cool story. Not all coaches are great, but so many make a huge difference.

    Pete, thanks for sharing your experience. Good to hear.

  10. I remember a soccer coach that I had as a kid. Truth was, we didn’t have a coach and he just happened to volunteer. He had played professionally for a short time and just love the sport and helped to build into us week after week for several seasons.

    Great post:) Really enjoyed it!

    Erick @ A Brief Sinfonia: Loving You’re Wife From A-Z

  11. Some coaches really go above and beyond. My children have been blessed with a lot of good ones, some even turning into mentors in the non-sports area. In this day and age of demanding and helicopter parents, it’s not an easy job. Thanks to all the gret coaches out there!

  12. Erick, isn’t that great? How that guy jumped in to be a coach. Thanks for sharing your experience.

    Thanks, Curtain Raiser (sorry, couldn’t find your name). My son had similar experiences. Nice to know your kids did, too.

  13. you are so right! Coach B is spot on for teaching kids about how to live and be responsible for your behavior. We need more of these role models! Have a great day and thanks for dropping by.

  14. Coaches are a very important influence on a kid. They can really make a lot of difference in a kids life – for good or for bad. Sportsmanship is a principle that transcends the field/court and spills in to the class/office. It helps define the way you view and more importantly treat people. I loved reading your post.

    *~ MAJK ~*
    Twitter @Safireblade
    A to Z Challenge

  15. Kathe, no problem. And thanks for visiting.

    Majk, unfortunately differences can be good or bad, as you say. This is one of the good guys.

  16. Coaches. *sigh* My children have had good ones, and they have had bad ones. Either way, it’s been a learning experience for my children. I know lots of kids who quit sports after a bad experience with one coach. I’m a new follower from the A to Z Challenge. Nice to meet you!

  17. Loved this post and your blog Silvia!

  18. Margo, so sorry to hear about your kids’ bad experiences. Hopefully the good times compensated some. Thanks for following my blog. Will go over to yours shortly.

    Abhishek, as a somewhat new blogger, it’s good to know I’m doing this right. :) Thanks so much.

  19. Well written! Both of my sons have special needs, and without the help of their volunteers and aides and teachers and therapists they would not have the quality of life they now enjoy. (Happy A to Z!)

  20. I teach karate (Tang Soo Do, specifically) every Friday to young kids and the number one thing I’ve learned (outside enthusiasm) is to taylor your approach. Every kid learns differently and trying to match your teachning to their learning style is a real challenge. I admire people like your Coach B and my Sah Bom NIm so much for that.

I welcome your thoughts.

